欽哲基金會與「巴拉孩童」(Bala Kids,香巴拉出版社新增兒童圖書系列)在啟迪、教育後代,以及為家長和孩童推展佛教資源方面,志同道合,因而攜手設立這份獎項,表彰最優質的佛教兒童作品。不論任何佛教傳統的虛構或非虛構作品,凡適合0-8歲兒童的優質故事,均符合資格。此項競賽特別鼓勵新晉作者參選。得獎者將獲得5,000美元獎金及「巴拉孩童」提供的出版合約。
 

提交準則:

  • 內容:凡傳達佛教價值觀、主題和傳統,且適合0-8歲兒童的圖畫書之完整稿件(英文)均可參選。世俗正念、冥想或瑜伽等題材將不予受理。
  • 格式:書冊應為全彩、標準全開兒童圖畫書(非硬頁書)。實際裁切尺寸和頁數將取決於內容,並由出版商決定。但大致而言,書冊篇幅應為24-48頁之間。
  • 插圖:歡迎作品隨附(已獲版權許可的)插圖,但由於評審著眼稿件內容本身,無論是否具備插圖均可參選,而最終選用的插圖將由出版商決定。
  • 評審標準:欽哲基金會和「巴拉孩童」將評核所有符合資格的稿件,並根據其創意、訊息和重要性予以評估。「巴拉孩童」可能與數份稿件締結出版合約,但「兒童圖書獎」得主僅限一名。如果來稿未能符合欽哲基金會和「巴拉孩童」訂立的標準,主辦機構將保留獎項至下一輪的作品。
  • 合約:得獎者將獲得「巴拉孩童」出版合約。合約所有條款和條件將由作者與出版商協定,欽哲基金會不直接參與合約簽訂與出版過程。

繳件方式:

請將稿件、隨附插圖及附函一同提交。附函內容應包括作者簡歷、作品摘要及作品所要傳達的訊息。請將上述資料電郵至 balakids@shambhala.com,標題請註明:KF Book Prize Submission (欽哲基金會兒童圖書獎參選作品)。

  • 得獎者將於2018年5月15日前接獲通知。
  • 截止日期:2018年2月15日。
  • 獎金:5,000美元及「巴拉孩童」出版合約。

點擊此處,下載PDF版公告。

「巴拉孩童」為香巴拉出版社新增的兒童圖書系列,旨在藉由佛教智慧與慈悲的觀念,啟發後代。

With a shared vision to inspire and educate generations to come, and to encourage the development of Buddhist resources for parents and children, Khyentse Foundation and Bala Kids (Shambhala Publications’ new children’s imprint) are teaming up to offer The Khyentse Foundation Children’s Book Prize for the best Buddhist children’s manuscript. Submissions of exceptional stories for children ages 0–8, both fiction and nonfiction, from all Buddhist traditions, are warmly welcomed, and new authors are especially encouraged to apply. The winning submission will receive a prize of $5,000 and will be offered a publishing contract from Bala Kids.

Submission Guidelines:

  • Content: Any complete manuscript in English for a picture book for children ages 0-8, expressing Buddhist values, themes, and traditions, is welcome. Submissions on secular mindfulness, meditation, or yoga will not be considered for this award.
  • Format: The book should be conceived as a full-color, full-size standard children’s picture book (not a board book). The exact trim size and page number will depend on the content and will be determined by the publisher, but generally the book should be conceived as ranging between 24 and 48 pages.
  • Illustrations: The prize is offered for the manuscript itself, which may or may not be submitted with illustrations, although submission of illustrations (with permissions cleared) is encouraged. Choosing the final illustrations for the book will be the responsibility of the publisher.
  • Consideration: All submissions will be reviewed by both Khyentse Foundation and Bala Kids, and will be assessed based on their creativity, message, and significance. It is possible that Bala Kids will make publication offers to multiple submissions; however, the Children’s Book Prize will be awarded to only one recipient. If there are no submissions that meet the standards of Khyentse Foundation and Bala Kids, the prize will be withheld until there is a new round of open submissions.
  • Contract: The winner of the prize will be offered a publishing contract by Bala Kids. All terms and conditions of the contract offer will be worked out between the author(s) and the publisher. Khyentse Foundation will not be directly involved in this process.

How to Submit:

All manuscripts, along with accompanying illustrations, should be submitted with a cover letter that includes a short author biography, book summary, and the intended message of the book. Please e-mail submissions to balakids@shambhala.com with the subject line: KF Book Prize Submission.

  • The winning author will be notified by May 15, 2018
  • Closing date: February 15, 2018
  • Prize award: $5,000 and publication offer with Bala Kids

DOWNLOAD THIS ANNOUNCEMENT

Bala Kids, the new children’s imprint of Shambhala Publications, is dedicated to inspiring the next generation through the Buddhist values of wisdom and compassion.