為了在尼泊爾偏遠的寺院中實施教育計畫,欽哲基金會協助「尼泊爾社區寺院教育創新方案」(Community Gompa Education Initiative in Nepal; CGEIN) 舉行為期三天的工作研討會。研討會於2017年11月3至5日舉行。尼泊爾政府官員、教育發展專家與相關組織齊聚一堂,設計了一套融合基礎佛法教育與世俗教育的一至八年級課程。

此項創新方案的誕生,來自各方的共同關切,大家都認為在尼泊爾小型寺院與周遭社區的年輕人應同時接受佛法與一般學科的教育。「尼泊爾社區寺院教育創新方案」的負責人金.比屈博士 (Dr. King Beach) 獲得欽哲基金會「阿育王獎助金」,他把獎助金用來負擔會議支出;尼泊爾佛教聯邦 (Nepal Buddhist Federation) 是一個不分派別的佛教組織,他們則協辦此屆研討會。研討會的立即成果是組成名為CGEIN 聯盟的工作小組,目的在制定實際的行動方案,以達成研討會所設立的目標。我們對於各界促成這次歷史性會議所付出的努力,深感欽佩與感激。

欽哲基金會致力於出家僧侶的學術發展,以培育未來傳播佛法的教師。比屈博士表示:「感謝尼泊爾佛教聯邦與欽哲基金會的支持。我們目前正與不同佛教傳承的大型主要寺院及尼泊爾政府合作,以增加尼泊爾數以萬計的沙彌與沙彌尼接觸世俗教育與佛法教育的機會。這個工作研討會只是我們的第一步。」

今年春天,欽哲基金會將成立一項新的教育創新方案,稱為「中道教育」(Middle Way Education)。這個全方位的佛法教育資源網站,除了為教師、家長與在家自學孩童提供資源外,也將設立寺院教育專區。此一專區的目標是在目前許多為出家僧侶所設的英語與科學學程之間建立一個聯絡平台,促進知識與資源共享。我們歡迎任何從事於這類學程,無論是在寺院從事教職或是發展寺院教育資源的個人或團體,與我們聯絡 (info@middlewayeducation.org)。

Khyentse Foundation helped support a 3-day working conference, held by the Community Gompa Education Initiative in Nepal (CGEIN), dedicated to the implementation of educational programming for Nepal’s rural gompas. The conference, which took place November 3-5, 2017, brought together Nepali government agencies, educational development experts, and other stakeholder organizations to initiate work on the design of education for grades 1 through 8 that will integrate basic dharma instruction and secular education.

The initiative was born of a shared concern that both dharma and secular subjects should be taught to the young members of Nepal’s smaller monasteries and their surrounding communities. Dr. King Beach, who led the CGEIN conference, received an Ashoka Grant from Khyentse Foundation to help cover costs. The Nepal Buddhist Federation, a nonsectarian Buddhist organization, co-hosted the event. An immediate outcome of the initiative is the formalization of a CGEIN consortium, a working group that will define an action plan to pursue the goals defined by the conference. We are impressed by and grateful for all the effort that went into making this historic meeting possible.

Khyentse Foundation is dedicated to the academic development of the ordained sangha so that they can continue to produce teachers for the future and propagate the dharma. According to Beach, “Thanks to support from the Nepal Buddhist Federation and Khyentse Foundation, we are working with the large central gompas across Buddhist traditions and with the Government of Nepal to increase access to education (academic and dharma) for tens of thousands of Nepal’s novice nuns and monks. This working conference is merely a first step.”

This spring, KF’s new education initiative, Middle Way Education, will launch a comprehensive Buddhist education resource website. In addition to providing resources for teachers, parents, and homeschoolers, the website will have a dedicated area for monastic education. The aim of the site is to create a network for the many programs that provide secular English and science programs for ordained sangha, to share their knowledge and resources. We invite anyone who is running such a program, teaching at a monastery, or developing resources for monastic education to contact info@middlewayeducation.org.