欽哲聚焦

2020年4月

 

追隨佛陀的足跡

印度「佛陀足印佛法中心」揭幕暨開示

 

我們很高興為大家報導宗薩欽哲仁波切最近在「佛陀足印佛法中心」主持揭幕暨給予開示的消息。該中心是在印度北部卡林邦新成立的一個喜馬拉雅地區中心,旨在研習和修持古印度智慧傳承。欽哲基金會非常高興有機會贊助這次的活動,並期待今後在該中心振興當地佛教的工作中,繼續給予支持。 

在3月初,仁波切訪問了「佛陀足印佛法中心」 (英文Buddha Pada ,Pāda是梵語,意為足或足印,”Buddha Pada”意即「佛陀足印」),並進行了為期六天的揭幕暨開示活動。 「佛陀足印佛法中心」是印度悉達多本願會一個新的協作中心空間,它依循「三束陽光」 —— 即龍欽巴、川波喜饒歐瑟和吉美林巴 –—— 的傳承。該中心在宗薩欽哲仁波切和尼昌欽楚仁波切的指導下運作。這次活動由印度悉達多本願會和卡林邦斯里那爛陀基金會(Kalimpong Shree Nalanda Foundation)共同組織

「佛陀足印佛法中心」一瞥

仁波切根據吉美林巴的《龍欽寧提》和嘉村寧波的《三寶總攝》的前行修持,給予了佛法的入門教授,並授予了這些修持的灌頂。來自尼泊爾和不丹的佛教徒和非佛教徒以及當地的塔芒、雪巴、古隆、菩提亞和雷布查等佛教社區共約1,200人參加了這次活動。巴拉居里教授(Punyaprasad Parajuli)在賽南卡多傑(Sey Namkha Dorje)和索南彭措堪布(Khenpo Sonam Phuntsok)的協助下,用尼泊爾語和英語對開示內容進行了現場翻譯。 

仁波切為中心的蓮師像點睛開光

第五天,欽哲仁波切與來自卡林邦10所學校的400多名孩童親切會面並與他們互動。他回答了孩子們一些有趣的問題,介紹了無常等基本的佛教概念,並給他們教授了「止」的禪修方法。一如既往,仁波切告訴孩子們,生活中最重要的事情就是要好玩,而且他們應該對別人和對自己都要友善。 當然,他們「應該學習,但不是為了找工作,而是為下一次好玩的事情做準備。」 之後,他授予了學童們《文殊菩薩智慧增上陀羅尼口傳》。這次愉快的會面在大家合唱尼泊爾傳統民歌Resam Piri Li的歌聲中結束。 

仁波切為當地學童開示佛法並互動

潔淨雪白的佛陀足印廟在金盞花的裝飾下,在晨光下閃閃發亮,兩位仁波切的一群熱情的學生聚集在中心,氣氛生氣盎然且愉快。 

宗薩欽哲仁波切和尼昌欽楚仁波切

佛陀足印中心即將宣佈其活動和日程表,該中心將提供佛教、印度文化和生態學方面的各種學習和實踐活動。請在印度悉達多本願會網站上查看更多信息。. 

開示上的聽眾

書籍 

這次活動免費派發了四本藏文和尼泊爾文書籍。 (尼泊爾藍毗尼大學的巴拉居里教授用了三個月的時間完成了這些書的尼泊爾語翻譯。) 這幾本書是《嘉村寧波的生活和教授》、《佛的品德詳解:如何修持佛陀儀軌》、《龍欽寧提修持》 和蔣揚欽哲旺波的《龍欽寧提的評論和解釋》。 

食物和志願者

這次活動為住在中心的所有客人免費提供食物。午餐時間一般非常匆忙,中心向約200人供應了午餐,包括嘉賓和學生,並向所有開示的參加者分發了午餐包。 

廚師來自不丹和鹿野苑。一個藏族婦女團體負責侍奉茶點,不丹的志願者負責管理法會的後勤工作,而日本悉達多本願會的學生則侍候兩位仁波切。

每日的節目 

六天中有幾天還包括其他特別活動,例如塔芒社區民歌手的文化介紹以及日本寺廟音樂和民歌。

尼昌仁波切向所有參與者派發了代表幸福與和平的摺紙紙鶴。這次活動專門製作了4,800只紙鶴,由日本的163位人士提供,當中大多數人都在臨終關懷中,他們表示這是他們回饋世界的方式。

關於「佛陀足印佛法中心」和卡林邦

從印度巴多格拉(Bagdogra)機場出發,經過蜿蜒的公路穿過提斯塔河谷,需要約三個小時的車程,就能到達佛陀足印中心,而距離卡林邦市中心則僅20分鐘車程。 佛陀足印中心在尼昌欽楚仁波切的指導下建立。尼昌仁波切在藏地出生,是唯一一位大多數時候在日本居住的高位階藏傳佛教喇嘛。宗薩欽哲仁波切最近接受了尼昌仁波切的邀請,參與發展和指導佛陀足印中心的活動。新建的中心由日本神戶的建築師設計,歷時14年完成。 這是尼昌仁波切的兩位學生格桑菩提亞(Kelsang Bhutia)和井之元(Inomoto)出於愛心的成果,而井之元還親自負責中心全部的建築和監督工作。中心是帕里特秋林信託基金會(Palri Thekchok Ling Trust)和卡林邦斯里那爛陀基金會的關聯機構。

格桑和井之元

該中心有三個教學廳,可容納400至500人。中心另有三個教室,每個可容納20人,以及兩個獨立的就餐區和廚房。中心可以提供約70人的住宿。

卡林邦位於印度西孟加拉邦的北部,與錫金相鄰。它位於喜馬拉雅山的山麓,海拔1250 米。直到18世紀,卡林邦還是錫金王國的一部分,由錫金統治者統治,後來才由不丹接管。在19世紀,英國人接管了卡林邦,並將其合併到現在的印度西孟加拉邦。

以上照片由蔣揚藏波和烏瑪彼達(Uma Pitta)提供class=”Apple-converted-space”> 

振興佛教傳統

宗薩欽哲仁波切的一個重要的願望就是振興傳統佛教國家的佛教。古印度是悉達多王子的出生地,釋迦牟尼佛一生大部分時間都在這裡教法,距今已有2500多年。儘管今日,佛教在印度非同往昔阿育王時代的輝煌,但人們對佛陀的教法越來越感興趣,尤其是年輕一代。 

為了弘揚印度的智慧傳統,印度欽哲基金會於2011年成立。多年來,欽哲基金會支持了位於喜馬拉雅山腳下小鎮比爾的鹿野苑學院的各種活動,贊助了國際佛法之光基金會(Light of Buddhadharma Foundation International) 在菩提迦耶和其他文化遺產地舉辦的三藏誦經活動,在浦那大學加強了佛學研究課程,並支持印度的多個佛教基層組織。欽哲基金會資助的最新項目佛陀足印佛法中心同樣有志於在印度振興對佛法研習和修持的興趣。 

有關更多印度欽哲基金會的活動,請參閱2018年11月的欽哲聚焦。.

FOCUS

April 2020

 

Following in the Buddha’s Footsteps

Inaugural Teachings at Buddha Pada, India

 

We are delighted to report on Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s recent teachings at Buddha Pada, a newly established Himalayan center for the study and practice of ancient Indian wisdom traditions, in Kalimpong, North India. KF-India welcomed the opportunity to sponsor this teaching, and we are looking forward to supporting future activities at Buddha Pada, as they work to revive interest in Buddhism in the region. 

In early March 2020, Rinpoche visited Buddha Pada (Pāda is a Sanskrit word meaning foot, or footstep) and gave a 6-day inaugural teaching. Buddha Pada, a new collaborative center-space of Siddhartha’s Intent India, is in the tradition of the three rays, or özers—Longchenpa, Trengpo Sherab Özer, and Jigme Lingpa. The center is under the guidance of Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche and Nyichang Khentrül Rinpoche. The event was jointly organized by Siddhartha’s Intent India and Kalimpong Shree Nalanda Foundation.

View of Buddha Pada

Rinpoche gave an introductory teaching on Buddhadharma based on the preliminary practices of Longchen Nyingthik of Jigme Lingpa and Konchok Chidü of Jatsön Nyingpo, and he also gave initiations for these practices. The event was attended by more than 1,200 people, both Buddhists and non-Buddhists, from Bhutan, Nepal, and the local Buddhist Tamang, Sherpa, Gurung, Bhutia, and Lepcha communities. There were live translations of the teachings in Nepali and English, by Prof. Punyaprasad Parajuli, assisted by Sey Namkha Dorje and Khenpo Sonam Phuntsok. 

Rinpoche painting the eyes of Guru Rinpoche at the inaguration of Buddha Pada

On day 5, Khyentse Rinpoche addressed and interacted with more than 400 children from ten schools in Kalimpong. He answered some interesting questions from the children, introduced some basic Buddhist concepts such as impermanence, and taught them shamatha meditation methods. As Rinpoche always does, he told the children that the most important thing in life is to have fun and that they should be kind to others and also to themselves. Also, they “should study, but not for getting a job, but to be prepared for the next fun.” After that, he gave the Manjushri dharani oral transmission. The joyful session ended with the group singing Resam Piri Li, a traditional Nepali folk song. 

Rinpoche teaching local school children

The pristine white Buddha Pada temple was decorated with marigolds, glistening in the morning sun. As an enthusiastic group of students of the two rinpoches came together at the center, the mood was vibrant and bright. 

Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche with Nyichang Khentrül Rinpoche

Buddha Pada will be soon announce their program and activity calendar, offering a variety of study and practice programs in Buddhism, Indian culture, and ecology. Watch for more information on the Siddhartha’s Intent India website. 

Audience at the teaching

Books  

Four books in Tibetan and Nepali languages were distributed for free. (Professor Punyaprasad Parajuli of Lumbini University, Nepal, spent 3 months completing the Nepalese translation of the books.) The books are Life and Teaching of Jetsun Nyingpo; Detailed Explanation of Buddha’s Qualities: How to Do Buddha Sadhana; Longchen Nyingtik Practice; and Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo’s Commentary and Explanation of Longchen Nyingtik. 

Food and Volunteers

Food was offered free to those staying at the center, and lunch hour was usually a rush. Lunch was served to about 200 people, including guests and students. Free lunch packets were distributed to all those attending the teachings. 

Cooks came from Bhutan and Deer Park, a Tibetan women’s group served tea and snacks, Bhutanese volunteers managed the logistics of the puja, and students from Siddhartha’s Intent Japan served both rinpoches.

Daily Program 

Several of the 6 days also included other special events, such as cultural presentations by the Tamang community folk singers and Japanese temple music and folk songs.

Nyichang Rinpoche distributed origami paper cranes, representing happiness and peace, to all participants. 4,800 cranes were specially made for this event, offered by 163 people in Japan, most of whom are in hospice and who expressed that this was their way of giving something back to the world.

About Buddha Pada and Kalimpong

Buddha Pada is a 3-hour journey from Bagdogra airport, on winding roads through the Teesta River valley, and just a 20-minute drive from the town center of Kalimpong. Buddha Pada has been under the guidance of Nyichang Khentrül Rinpoche, who was born in Tibet and is the only high Tibetan lama living in Japan most of the time. Nyichang Rinpoche recently invited Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche to develop and guide the activities of Buddha Pada. The center, which took 14 years to complete, was designed by Japanese architects from Kobe. It was a labor of love for two of Nyichang Rinpoche’s students, Kelsang Bhutia and Inomoto, who were responsible for building the center and supervised the construction. It is associated with the Palri Thekchok Ling Trust and Kalimpong Shree Nalanda Foundation.

Kelsang and Inomoto

The center has three teaching halls that can seat 400 to 500 people; three classrooms that can each accommodate 20 participants; and two separate dining areas and kitchens. It can provide accommodation for about 70 people.

Kalimpong is located in the northern part of the state of West Bengal and is adjacent to the state of Sikkim. It is set in the foothills of the Himalayas at an altitude of 1250 m above sea level. Until the 18th century, Kalimpong was a part of the Kingdom of Sikkim and was ruled by Sikkimese rulers. It was later taken over by Bhutan, and in the 19th century the British assumed control of Kalimpong and merged it into the present Indian state of West Bengal.

Photo credits: Jamyang Zangpo and Uma Pitta 

Revitalizing Buddhist Traditions

One of Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s aspirations is to revive Buddhism in traditionally Buddhist countries, and India is where Buddha Shakyamuni spent most of his life teaching more than 2,500 years ago. While Buddhism is less prominent in India today than it was in King Ashoka’s time, there is a growing interest in Buddha’s teachings, especially among the younger generation. 

KF-India was established in 2011 to promote Indian wisdom traditions. Over the years, KF has supported various programs at Deer Park Institute in Bir, a small town at the foothill of the Himalayas; sponsored Tripitaka chanting events, organized by the Light of Buddhadharma Foundation International, in Bodhgaya and other heritage sites; strengthened Buddhist studies programs at Pune University; and supported various Buddhist grassroot organizations in India. Buddha Pada, the latest project supported by KF-India, shares the aspiration to revive interest in Buddhist study and practice in India. 

For more information about KF-India, please read an interview with Uma Pittaadministration manager.