欽哲聚焦

2021年11月

標題圖片:「如果你快樂而且你知道你快樂…」,2018,由藝術家 Ang Tsherin Sherpa 授權提供使用。

 

追趕現代化的步伐

仁波切於2021年欽哲基金會董事會上的致辭

在這個收穫和感恩的季節,我們與大家分享仁波切在2021年欽哲基金會董事會上的講話。仁波切詳細講述了我們能如何集中精力分享佛陀的智慧,並鼓勵我們要意識到時代的變化並且如何與時俱進。

「現代化不會就此停止。它將繼續下去,事物的現代化甚至會發展得比現在更快、更凶猛。如果我們真的想保存和弘揚佛法,我們需要注意這個現實,並將其納入我們的思維和行動。」

「我們真的需要意識到,現代化正不斷創造不同的情況和環境,因此,保存和弘揚佛法也要適應這些新的條件和環境。 這意味著欽哲基金會作為一個組織,必須充分意識到現代化和它所帶來的改變,並在這種形勢下保存和弘揚佛法。」

上圖:「無題」,2010,由藝術家 Ang Tsherin Sherpa 授權提供使用。

仁波切提供了許多例子,並引導我們趕上現代化的步伐。最值得注意的是,他說我們必須認識到,任何人,不僅僅是喇嘛和仁波切,都可以成為真正的佛法持有者——無論是在家眾、男人、女人、變性人、商人、農民、博主、網紅、舞者、時裝設計師或廚師。他還指出,雖然我們並不激進地試圖改變人們的信仰,但作為佛教徒和菩薩,我們有責任幫助別人,為所有受苦的人提供有用的信息。

我們作為一個組織應該探索和嘗試新的策略,以接觸更多的潛在佛教徒。我們應該考慮五十年或一百年後的佛教徒,努力培養出基本上欣賞佛法的一代。

欽哲基金會的顧問也參與了討論,並提出了許多有益和有意義的建議,引發了我們對欽哲基金會未來工作方向和範圍的思考。雖然我們自己可能沒有資源完成所有的重任,但我們將繼續觀察和聆聽,尋找機會與其他志同道合的組織合作,支持他們關注更普遍、更廣泛的受眾,特別是年輕一代。我們希望能物色那些以有效和創新的方式推廣佛陀智慧的個人。我們充分認識到,只有當我們有效地與這個快速變化的時代的人們和需求聯繫起來,我們才能正確地保護和傳播真正的佛法。我們也誠邀您,欽哲基金會的護持者和合作方,在未來與我們分享您的想法並與我們合作。

為佛法服務二十載

2001年11月,欽哲基金會正式成立。今年,我們慶祝欽哲基金會成立20週年。從一開始,欽哲基金會就是一個秉持奉獻的機構,唯有你們的支持、耕耘和祝福,我們才能持續為佛法服務。

在此,我們感謝基金會的每一位成員,我們慷慨的功德主、我們令人難以置信、勤奮的員工和義工,以及我們的受助人和合作機構。感謝他們的無私奉獻和全然付出。

在我們進入第21年之際,我們的任務是要趕上現代化的步伐,將我們的接觸面擴大到更多的人,並使我們的工作與這個快速變化的世界中所有受苦的人更為相關。讓我們一起努力去實現宗薩欽哲仁波切宏大的願景。

欽哲基金會執行董事陳季佩女士的書桌,美國舊金山,2021年

從五大首要計畫蓬勃發展

陳季佩憶述基金會成立之初的策略規劃

在2002年的一個怡人的夏日,那時基金會剛成立不久,仁波切連同琴恩·史密斯(1936-2010)和一些基金會的創始成員,聚集在我位於三藩市的家裡,進行了首場基金會策略規劃會議。討論的課題包括如何保證仁波切名下佛學院的日常運作資金需要,讓他能夠毋需擔心,而專注於教導世界各地成千上萬的學生,乃至如何在國際層面上管理持續積累的捐款和滙集來自各地的資源。

我的好朋友洪王德璋擔任本次會議的協調員,在她的鼓勵和引導下,大家熱烈討論,最終定下了基金會的目標和事業藍圖。

之後大家問了仁波切一個至關重要的問題: 如果資金不是問題,他希望基金會做什麼、達成什麼目標?

仁波切毫不猶豫地回答,以下就是他的願望清單,而我們視之為他的「快樂指標」:

1.  護持傳統寺院和佛學院

2.  護持世界各地希望修學佛法的人

3.  保育佛教文獻並將之翻譯為不同語言

4.  在大學設立永久佛學教席

5.  發展佛教兒童教育

二十年後,我們依然在這些領域努力工作, 它們也已經成為基金會的核心事業。這些年來,基金會創始成員與來自超過三十個國家多才多藝的義工團隊,成功地拓展和擴張了這些志業的範圍和規模,然而,我們總不忘回到仁波切當初的願景。

最近, 仁波切告誡我們不要只著眼於護持志求佛法的人,而是要接觸更廣大的群眾 ——「任何受制於『苦』的人」,並以善巧的方法去吸引、啓發並接引人們進入佛法的智慧。這是基金會樂於接受的挑戰。

到現在我們才更清楚看見,基金會的願景和全盤計畫,仁波切一開始就瞭然於胸,但他只是逐步地為我們揭示,靜待我們成長、成熟,直至我們準備好乘風破浪。

如同佛陀因大悲心而為不同根性的眾生宣講八萬四千法門,仁波切開啓我們的心靈,循循善誘,因材施教,讓我們一步一步更加接近佛法。

陳季佩女士是欽哲基金會創始成員之一,自基金會成立至今,一直擔任基金會執行董事之職。

 

 

偉大的佛教護法:不丹王后阿禧彭措雀登旺秋, 中國南朝的梁武帝,琴恩·史密斯,印度阿育王

 

感恩與供養的季節

「欽哲基金會發願成為佛法的護持者。如同我們禮敬偉大的上師 —— 例如龍樹菩薩、阿底峽尊者、密勒日巴尊者、還有當今的上師們 —— 我們也禮敬佛法。與此同時,我們不應忘記,回溯歷史上佛教的黃金時期,佛法之所以興盛,不單只仰仗出離的大成就者,也有賴作出偉大貢獻的護持者,像阿育王、成吉思汗、赤松德贊王等等。 我們可以從歷史中看出, 有效、健全、堅固的護持系統孕育出令人驚嘆的佛教徒和佛法的天地。而當一個受佛法影響深遠的社會繁榮之時,和平、和諧和興盛也隨之而來。 」

—— 宗薩欽哲仁波切談「佈施」,2013

請按這裡閱讀佛教護法王改變世界的故事。

護持欽哲基金會,達成仁波切的宏願。您的供養將融入不斷增長擴大的功德大海中。你可以立即捐款,或將基金會納入你的遺產規劃當中。

其他訊息

欽哲基金會現正徵詢技術總監。按此瞭解有關詳情。

本屆欽哲「傑出佛學博士論文獎」提名期限已經延長至2022年1月15日。自本年度開始,欽哲傑出佛學博士論文獎亞洲提名區域將開放至大中華區以外,新增包括以下國家的東南亞及太平洋地區:緬甸、柬埔寨、馬來西亞、老撾、印度尼西亞、新加 坡、泰國、越南、澳大利亞以及紐西蘭。

• 參加網上共修活動
每月共修:綠度母共修

每週共修:憶念三寶儀軌

您聽了「古德曼佛學講座」了嗎?請在這裡重溫往期講座。欽哲基金會的 Vimeo YouTube 頻道。

• 請訪問藝術家 Ang Tsherin Sherpa個人網站瞭解更多資訊。

FOCUS 

November 2021

 

Ang Tsherin SherpaIf you’re happy and you know it…2018. Gold leaf, acrylic and ink on cotton.  Courtsey of the artist.

Catching Up with Modernity

Rinpoche’s Address from the

KF Board of Director’s Meeting

At this season of harvest and thanksgiving, we share with you Rinpoche’s address from the 2021 KF board of directors meeting. Rinpoche spoke at length about how we can focus our efforts to share Buddha’s wisdom and encouraged us to be aware of and to work with the changing times.

Modernization is not just going to stop. It will keep going, with things being modernized even faster and more viciously than at present. We need to pay attention to this reality and incorporate it into our thinking and actions if we genuinely want to preserve and propagate the dharma.

We really need to be aware of the ways that modernity is constantly creating different situations and environments, and therefore preserving and propagating the dharma means working with those new conditions and circumstances. This means that Khyentse Foundation as an organization must aspire to protect and spread the dharma with full awareness of modernity and the changes it brings.

Ang Tsherin SherpaUntitled, 2010. Gold leaf, acrylic and ink on canvas. Courtesy of the artist.

 

Rinpoche offered many examples and guided us to catch up with modernity. Most notably, he said that we must realize that anyone, not just lamas and rinpoches, can be a genuine holder of the dharma—layperson, man, woman, transgender, businessman, farmer, blogger, influencer, dancer, fashion designer, or cook. He also noted that although we don’t aggressively try to convert people, as Buddhists and bodhisattvas we have a duty to make ourselves available and offer helpful information to all those who are suffering.

We as an organization should explore and experiment with new strategies to reach a larger number of potential Buddhists. We should think of Buddhists fifty or a hundred years from now and try to produce a generation that basically appreciates Buddhadharma.

KF advisers also joined the conversation and offered useful and interesting suggestions that provoked our thinking about the direction and scope of KF work going forward. Although we may not have the resources to do all of the heavy lifting ourselves, we will keep our eyes and ears open and look for opportunities to collaborate with and support other like-minded organizations that focus on a more general, wider audience, and especially the younger generations. We hope to identify individuals who are promoting the Buddha’s wisdom in effective and creative ways. We fully recognize that we can properly protect and disseminate the true dharma only if we relate effectively to the people and needs of our fast-changing era. We also invite you, our KF supporters and collaborators, to share your ideas and to work with us in the coming months and years.

20 years of Service to Buddhadharma

In November 2001 the seed of Khyentse Foundation was officially planted, and on November 5, we celebrated 20 years of operation. Since the beginning, KF has been an organization of offering, and it is only because of your support, your labor, and your well wishes that we are able to continue in service to the Buddhadharma.

Thank you to everyone who is part of the foundation, to our generous donors, our incredible and hardworking staff and volunteers, and our grantees and collaborating institutions who do the work that will preserve the dharma for future generations.

As we enter our 21st year, our mandate is to catch up with modernity, expand our reach to a wider audience, and make our work more relevant to all the suffering people of this fast-changing world. The vision of Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche is vast, and together we work to realize his aspirations.

KF Executive Director Cangioli Che’s workspace. San Francisco, California 2021

Growing from the Original Five

Cangioli reflects on how we began

Shortly after KF was incorporated, in early 2002, Rinpoche and a few founding members of the fledgling Khyentse Foundation, along with Gene Smith, gathered on a beautiful summer day for a strategic planning session in my home in San Francisco. We discussed issues ranging from how we could support Rinpoche’s shedras so he could focus on teaching thousands of students around the world, to practical issues on managing the accumulating endowment and pooling resources on an international level.

Ivy Ang, the facilitator, encouraged and monitored lively sessions, and helped everyone map out KF’s goals and activities.

Then we asked Rinpoche the all-important question: What would he wish for the foundation to do and achieve, if money were not an issue?

Rinpoche responded without any hesitation. This was his wish list, which determined what we called his “happiness scale”:

1.  Support the traditional monastic colleges and monasteries.

2.  Support people who wish to study and practice Buddhism worldwide.

3.  Preserve Buddhist texts and translate them into different languages.

4.  Endow a chair at a North American university.

5.  Develop Buddhist education for children.

Twenty years later, we are still working on these areas, and they have formed the backbone of the foundation’s activities. Over the years the founding members, together with a host of talented volunteers in more than thirty countries, have significantly developed and expanded the scope and scale of these activities, but we are always brought back to Rinpoche’s original wishes.

More recently, Rinpoche has urged us to not only support those who wish to study and practice the Buddhadharma, but to reach out to a wider audience—“anyone who has dukkha”—and to use skillful means to inspire, interest, and bring people to Buddha’s wisdom. This is the challenge that KF will continue to work on.

We can now see more clearly that Rinpoche has had the full vision and plan in his mind since the very beginning, but he was just giving it to us in pieces, waiting for the foundation to grow, mature, and be ready to take on bigger challenges.

Just like the Buddha, who, out of his compassion, taught more than 84000 skillful means to cater to the needs of all sentient beings, Rinpoche opens our minds and brings us to the dharma, step by step, in chewable bite-sized pieces.

Cangioli was a founding member of Khyentse Foundation and has served as its executive director since its inception.

 

Great Patrons of Buddhism: Her Majesty Ashi Phuntsho Choden Wangchuck, Emperor Wu, Gene Smith, and King Ashoka

Season of Thanksgiving and Offering

Khyentse Foundation aspires to be a patron of Buddhism. As much as we pay tribute to great masters like Nagarjuna, Atisha, Milarepa, and the lamas still alive today—as much as we pay tribute for the existence of the dharma—there’s something we shouldn’t forget: If you look at Buddhist history, at the golden age of the Buddhadharma, it’s not just because of the renunciate mahasiddhas. It’s because of the great patronage. Like King Ashoka. Like Genghis Khan. Like Trisong Deutsen. We have noticed in history that sound and healthy and strong patronage produced an amazing world of Buddhists and Buddhadharma. And it is also the case that when the Buddhist-influenced society is thriving, there is a lot of peace, harmony, and prosperity.

—Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on Giving, 2013.

Read about the patron kings in history and how they affected the world.

Help fulfill Rinpoche’s aspirations through the activities of Khyentse Foundation. Join our ocean of merit by making a donation or by including KF in your estate planning.

In Other News

KF is seeking to fill the position of Technology Director. To read more about the opportunity, click here.

KF PhD Dissertation Award extends the nomination period to January 15, 2022. We are happy to announce that a new “Southeast Asian and Pacific” zone is added to the Asian Dissertation award starting this year.

• Join Our Online Practice Opportunities
Monthly: Green Tara Puja

  Weekly: Remembering the Three Jewels Practice

• Have you heard the buzz about the KF Goodman Lectures? If you missed  any of them, check them out on KF’s Vimeo and YouTube channels.

• Sanskritist and Khyentse Foundation volunteer Mattia Salvini offers a      Sanskrit poem with English rendering: “What Pertains to the Sugata” on the website Collective Buddhist Studies Manifesto.

• For more information on the artist Ang Tsherin Sherpa visit his website.