欽哲聚焦

2021年一月

 

菩薩道上身體力行

檀香寺的觀音塑像

 

2021吉祥!欽哲基金會祝各位新年快樂。新年伊始,我們率先和大家分享一則好消息:馬來西亞的唯悟法師博士成為欽哲基金會第六屆終身成就奬得主。人稱「馬來西亞品管之父」的唯悟法師,是如何由一位電子工程師變身為聞名東南亞的檀香寺和泰國國際佛教大學創辦人的種種因緣事跡,且由許功化為我們娓娓道來。檀香寺是位於馬來西亞檳城的大乘佛教組織,分支遍及整個馬來半島。 

唯悟法師榮獲2020年度欽哲基金會終身成就獎

近日,欽哲基金會與宗薩欽哲仁波切將本會設立的最高個人榮譽——欽哲基金會終身成就獎——授予唯悟法師,以表彰他數十年來為弘揚佛法和佛化教育所作出的難以稱量的傑出貢獻。 

唯悟法師

欽哲基金會終身成就獎於2011年設立,旨在表揚為保存、弘揚和維護佛法而貢獻畢生精力和志業的人士。過往的得獎者包括土登尼瑪仁波切、彼得‧史其林教授、法光法師教授、約翰·康諦和鄔史敦·費勒契,以及高明道教授。今年,我們很高興能以此殊榮對唯悟法師表達尊崇。他在馬來西亞檀香寺和檀香基金會以及泰國國際佛教大學的佛法耕耘尤令我們欽佩和深受啟發。
唯悟法師在IBC年度畢業大會上為一位學成畢業的出家學僧頒發優秀學生獎狀。

本會頒贈三萬美元,以示表彰唯悟法師對佛教教育的寶貴貢獻和所開展的諸多菩薩行,感謝唯悟法師席不暇暖、念茲在茲地為保存和弘揚佛陀教言及其普及實踐所做的努力。

唯悟法師對獲獎表示感謝,他說:「獲頒欽哲基金會的終身成就獎,我既感到非常榮幸卻又受之有愧。 我和檀香寺和檀香基金會以及國際佛教大學的成員共同分享這項榮譽。 他們也隨喜欽哲基金會為弘揚佛法做出的重大貢獻。」

在全球正歷經各種健康、氣候、經濟和政治動蕩之際,我們比以往更需要如唯悟法師般的菩薩。 我們藉此機會正式表彰唯悟法師的不懈努力,並祈願他寶貴的利生事業持續興盛,造福所有眾生。

唯以彼岸為歸處 悟時煩惱即菩提 —— 我所認識的唯悟法師

許功化 敬撰

唯悟法師與我之間的因緣繫牽其實在我遇見他之前已經開始了。我已故的母親原來曾在檳城為年幼時的唯悟法師指導過佛法。法師至今仍常提起她、懷念她。在母親過世多年,我自己踏上了佛法修行之道後,我才開始認識法師和了解到他在馬來西亞及其他地區為傳揚佛法作出了莫大貢獻。他對佛教不分教派的態度與我的佛教上師宗薩欽哲仁波切的利美(藏文發音,意為不分教派)傳承和做法非常相似,讓我十分敬佩。

在唯悟法師出家25週年的一次訪問中,法師透露雖然他於1985年已創立檀香寺,卻是直到1992年才受出家戒;因為當時他擔任寶潔、惠普和其他跨國公司的全面質量管理顧問,感到自己必須對客戶負責,且必須培訓出一位可靠的繼任人,才能離開他在俗的職務。在受戒成僧前,法師以在家居士的身份,在工作之餘付出大量的時間和精力,積極培育檀香寺的信眾和組織。不論是以在家居士或出家僧侶身份弘揚佛法,唯悟法師都真正顯現出無量的悲心和智慧。

在法師的帶領下,檀香寺很快便成為馬來西亞主要的大乘佛教組織,秉持著「少有所學,壯有所用,老有所依,終有所歸」的四大信念,檀香基金會凝集大眾的力量,致力推動佛教教育、慈善及修持工作。

檀香寺開展多項佛法及社區活動 | 上圖順時針由左至右:檀香寺外景;舉行為期7天的阿彌陀佛名號唸誦法會;檀香寺僧眾參加法會;檀香幼兒園的小朋友;檀香週日學校活動;社區慈善救助和安老護理。

另一件鮮為人知的事情是,在1980年代唯悟法師尚未出家時,就在宗薩欽哲仁波切訪問馬來西亞給予佛法講座時,擔任仁波切的首位中文翻譯,這是多麼奇妙的因緣啊!

2005年,唯悟法師開啟了另一項重要任務:尋求各個佛教傳統的共識,攜手合作為來自亞洲各國的僧侶提升培訓和教育。於是唯悟法師努力推動並成功創辦位於泰國南部宋卡府的泰國國際佛教大學, 並邀請三大佛教傳承的佛學學者前往任教。唯悟法師的願景是通過該大學提升學術交流水平,為有志深入佛法的人士提供一個互動和尋求共通點的學術中心。

國際佛教大學宋卡府校園

數年後,在我擔任欽哲基金會獎學金委員會主席之時,有機會協助基金會與唯悟法會結緣,促成了基金會與泰國國際佛教大學長期穩定的夥伴關係,協力護持傳統上座部國家僧尼的學術培訓。我很高興欽哲基金會將終身成就獎,這項基金會設立的最高個人榮譽頒予唯悟法師。我衷心隨喜法師對傳揚佛教和佛學研究無有疲厭的德業,且以馬來西亞同鄉的身份感到與有榮焉!
IBC學生在圖書館學習;學生與老師交流融洽;IBC年度袈裟供養活動;IBC學生們歡慶中秋佳節

泰國國際佛教大學與欽哲基金會的合作 

泰國國際佛教大學 (IBC) 是由馬來西亞檀香寺基金會贊助的佛教非營利教育機構。該校與國際接軌,以英語和漢語授課,目前有來自20多個國家/地區的學生和老師。該校的獨特之處在於對研習和實修皆同樣重視。 

欽哲基金會與IBC的合作關係始於2016年。當時雙方發起一項三千美元的聯合獎學金,頒發給三位僧侶。其後每年會新增三位僧眾獲得獎助,並優先考慮來自傳統上座部國家的僧侶。在2019年,基金會的資助金額達到18,000美元,資助了來自緬甸、老撾、越南、孟加拉、印度和斯里蘭卡的十二位法師與尼師。IBC是欽哲基金會護持東南亞傳統佛教國家的重要渠道,我們預期彼此之間的連繫會在未來更為密切和穩固。

其他消息

  • 《隨念三寶經》網上共修正式推出。《隨念三寶經》儀軌(the Triratna Anusmriti Sadhana)是由宗薩欽哲仁波切發起的長期網上共修,目前在義工團隊的努力下正式推出,供大眾參與修持。該共修旨在將三寶的儀軌融入日常生活,幫助我們以有條理和誠摯的方式管理和訓練我們的心,任何人,包括非佛教徒都可以參加。目前網站只提供英文和梵文的修持儀軌等內容,後續將會陸續包括更多其他的語言。
  • 欽哲基金會阿育王獎助金於2021年1月15日至2月15日期間接受申請。
  • 歐洲區欽哲基金會傑出佛學博士論文獎提名期將於2021年1月31日結束。
  • 欽哲基金會計畫影片召集:你過去曾獲欽哲基金會頒發獎助金或獎學金嗎?欽哲基金會誠邀你加入基金會將於2021年底開始的基金會成立21週年紀念活動。我們正在收集過去二十年來本會所護持的人士和項目的有關影片,例如訪談、活動錄影或個人見證。如需更多資料,請聯絡info@khyentsefoundation.org。.

FOCUS 

January 2021

 

Walking the Bodhisattva Path

The Guan Yin statue at Than Hsiang Temple

Welcome to 2021!  Khyentse Foundation wishes all of you a very happy new year. We would like to start the year with some joyful news by announcing the sixth Khyentse Fellowship award to Venerable Wei Wu of Malaysia. We invited Florence Koh to share the story of Ven. Wei Wu’s transition from his position as an engineer in an electronic manufacturing firm in Penang to the founder of Than Hsiang Temple, a leading Mahayana organization with branches in several states of peninsular Malaysia, and then to founding the International Buddhist College in Thailand. 

Venerable Wei Wu Named 2020 Khyentse Fellow 

Khyentse Foundation and Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche are pleased to honor Ven. Wei Wu as the 2020 Khyentse Fellow, the highest KF award to an individual, in recognition of his immeasurable and outstanding contribution to the promotion of Buddhadharma and Buddhist education over the past decades.  

Ven. Wei Wu

The Khyentse Fellowship was established in 2011 to recognize individuals who have devoted their life and career to preserve, promote, and uphold the buddhadharma. Past recipients of the fellowship include Alak Zenkar Rinpoche (Tudeng Nima Rinpoche), Prof. Peter Skilling, Prof. Ven. Dhammajoti, John Canti and Wulston Fletcher and Prof. Gao Mingdao. This year, we are very pleased to award the fellowship to Ven. Wei Wu. We are particularly impressed and inspired by his work with the Than Hsiang Temple/Foundation in Malaysia and the International Buddhist College in Thailand. 

Ven. Wei Wu presenting an award to a graduating monk at the IBC annual convocation

 As an expression of our gratitude for Ven. Wei Wu’s unceasing work and his dedication and devotion to preserving and promoting the Buddha’s teachings and their applications in the world, Khyentse Foundation offers him an award of US$30,000. 

In expressing his gratitude for the award, Ven. Wei Wu said, ‘I feel very honored and humbled to receive this fellowship from Khyentse Foundation. I share this honor with the members of Than Hsiang Temple/Foundation and International Buddhist College. They also rejoice in the great contribution of Khyentse Foundation for the promotion of buddhadharma.’

At a time when the entire world is going through all kinds of health, climate, economic, and political upheavals, we need bodhisattvas like Venerable Wei Wu more than ever before. We take this opportunity to officially acknowledge him for all his hard work, and we pray for his valuable efforts to continue and to flourish for the benefit of all sentient beings. 

Walking the Bodhisattva Path

By Florence Koh

The connection between Ven. Wei Wu and me actually started long before I met him. It turned out that my dear late mother had mentored Venerable as a young boy in Penang. Only years after my mother’s passing, when I took on the path of a Buddhist practitioner myself, did I come to know Venerable and see how much he has contributed to propagating buddhadharma in Malaysia and beyond. I was most impressed by his nonsectarian attitude toward Buddhism, which very much resonates with the lineage and practice of my teacher, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche. 

In an interview marking the 25th year of his ordination, Ven. Wei Wu explained that although he founded Than Hsiang Temple in 1985, he was not ordained until 1992 because as a total quality management consultant for Proctor & Gamble, Hewlett-Packard, and other multinational companies, he felt that to be responsible to his customers he had to train a reliable successor before he could leave his lay career. Before his ordination as a monk, he devoted much time and energy as an active lay Buddhist to building up Than Hsiang’s following and organization. Both in his role as a lay Buddhist and as a monk propagating the buddhadharma, Ven. Wei Wu has truly manifested boundless compassion and wisdom.  

Than Hsiang soon became a leading Mahayana organization in Malaysia. Than Hsiang soon became a leading Mahayana organization in Malaysia which offers not only dharma servicies but also various educational and community services ranging from kindergarten, Buddhist primary and secondary schools, welfare care, senior care homes and more.

Than Hsiang Temple dharma community activities | Above photos clockwise left to right: Than Hsiang Temple in Penang, Malaysia; Seven-day Amitabha name chanting; Dharma assembly at Than Hsiang, Than Hsiang kindergarten students, Than Hsiang Sunday school, Welfare financial assistance and senior care.

Another thing that few people know is that Ven. Wei Wu was the first Chinese translator for Rinpoche in Malaysia back in the 1980s when Venerable was still a lay person. What an amazing connection he has with Rinpoche!

In 2005, Venerable embarked on another important mission: to seek common ground with other Buddhist traditions and collaborate with them to uplift the training and education of monks from various countries in Asia. He was the moving force behind the founding of the International Buddhist College (IBC) in Sadao, in southern Thailand. Buddhist scholars from all three traditions were invited to teach at this institute of higher education. Ven. Wei Wu’s vision is for this institution to be a center for serious students of Buddhism to interact and seek commonality, through the highest standards of scholarly exchange.

IBC Sadao campus

A few years later, as the chair of KF’s Scholarship Committee, I had the opportunity to connect Khyentse Foundation with Ven. Wei Wu, which led to a steady long-term relationship between the foundation and IBC in supporting monks and nuns from countries of the Theravadin tradition. I am delighted that Khyentse Foundation has granted Ven. Wei Wu the Khyentse Fellowship award, the highest recognition and honor the foundation offers to an individual. I truly rejoice in his tireless efforts to propagate Buddhism and Buddhist studies, and I’m so very proud of this fellow Malaysian from my hometown!

Above photos from left to right: IBC students at the library; Students having a discussion with their teacher; Annual Kathina (robe) offering at IBC; Students celebrating mid-autumn festival at IBC.

The Collaboration Between IBC and KF  

IBC is a nonprofit Buddhist educational institution sponsored by Than Hsiang Foundation in Malaysia. As a truly international institution, IBC offers instruction in English and Chinese and currently has students and teachers from more than 20 countries. A unique feature of the institution is its equal emphasis on study and practice. 

KF’s relationship with IBC started in 2016 with a $3,000 joint scholarship, supported equally by KF and IBC, that was offered to three monks. Each year, three additional monastic students were awarded the scholarships, with preference given to monastic students from traditionally Theravadin countries. In 2019, the KF grant totaled $18,000 and it supported twelve monks and nuns from Myanmar, Laos, Vietnam, Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka. IBC is a gateway for KF to support the Buddhist mother countries in Southeast Asia, and we foresee the connection between the two organizations growing stronger and deeper in the future.

In Other News

  • Introducing the Triratna Anusmriti Sadhana (the sadhana of The Recollection of the Noble Three Jewels), an online ongoing group practice initiated by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche. You can integrate this beautiful sadhana into your daily lives as a means to systematically and sincerely manage and train your minds. Everyone is welcome to join. Check it out.
  • KF’s Ashoka Grant is open for applications from January 15, 2021 to February 15, 2021.
  • The nomination period for KF Outstanding Dissertations in Buddhist Studies Award for Europe ends January 31, 2021.
  • Call for video footage of Khyentse Foundation projects: Have you received a grant or scholarship from Khyentse Foundation in the past? We invite you to be part of a 2021-22 celebration commemorating the foundation’s 21st anniversary. We’re looking for video clips from the people and programs we’ve supported over the past two decades. These videos could be interviews, event footage, or a personal testimonial. For full information, contact info@khyentsefoundation.org.