对我们最尊敬的三宝,我们皈依,并且供奉我们最珍贵、最钟爱的财富—也就是我们永远光明的心。我们也供养所有会发光、能照亮的东西:从太阳、月亮、直至如尘土般的微小粒子。而且同时,我们也在此供养人造的光,来照亮位于菩提迦耶神圣的大觉寺。” 
—— 宗萨钦哲仁波切

我们很高兴地跟大家报告,光耀大觉寺计划所需的全部资金已于近日全部筹得。感恩随喜为此计划贡献了时间、金钱、创意、随喜、祝愿的所有人,并迴向此功德,愿所有众生皆证圆满菩提。

 

2019年春季,光耀大觉寺计划在菩提伽耶的大觉寺现场正式破土动工。在诸佛菩萨的加持下,全球各地功德主的慷慨支持下,以及管理团队高效、专注且勤奋的工作和当地员工的积极配合下,该项目得以顺利开展。尽管目前印度全线封城,大觉寺的现场施工被迫暂停,但项目管理团队密切关注形势,做好了一旦情况好转随时复工的准备。与此同时,项目组也希望和大家分享这一年来的工作进展。

 

光耀大觉寺年度报导 

尽管新冠病毒肆意席卷全球,痛苦地成为我们关注的焦点中心,而恰恰在此艰难的时刻,我们更需要把注意力放在我们佛法的中心点 —— 神圣的菩提伽耶。正是于此地,那位名叫悉达多,曾经如同我们的普通人,了悟了痛苦的实相,且找到了从生老病死苦难中解脱的方法。

 

这个全球充满灾难与痛苦的时刻,也许正是最佳的时刻来重燃我们的智慧之光,来随喜我们的光耀大觉寺计划,并深深祈愿光耀大觉寺计划所有的努力能够消除无尽众生正在承受的痛苦煎熬和焦虑。

 

当然,我们现在必须面对的现实问题是:印度6个星期的全线封城,让寺庙现场工地被迫暂时停工。不过在此之前的旅游限制令倒是给了我们机会,现场施工在几乎没有朝圣者的安静宽敞环境中顺利进行。假设新冠病毒情况能在两个月内得以控制解决,我们仍计划在今年9月如期在预算内完成全部工程。 

 

如果一切顺利,我们计划在今年10月宗萨祈愿法会期间举行一场盛大的供灯庆典。届时,我们会将整个光耀大觉寺工程赠予负责管理大觉寺的菩提伽耶寺庙管理委员会。其中包括了全新的世界一级电气基础设施,和明亮地照亮着寺庙各个角落的600盏崭新的节能灯。我们祈愿大家所供奉的灯,照亮着象征世界和平,和谐,繁荣和与自然相融的一条新道路。 

 

煎熬与赞颂

作为佛教徒,我们知道事件的发生不是随机的,而均是因缘和合而产生。因此,我们应该意识到当前人类这种焦灼痛苦,是跟我们以往贪婪好战和无知密切相关的。但我们也没有必要过度沉浸在沮丧中。换个角度来看,此刻我们应该赞颂无论种植在何处的,积极向上的善业种子。从光耀大觉寺此特定事件来看,你们的崇高愿望和慷慨捐赠的善业种子,现在以螺母,螺栓,管道,电缆和灯泡的形式呈现了出来。 

 

在过去的一年中,我们为佛教最为神圣的金刚座 —— 佛陀证悟之地,供养了最先进的高品质新型生态电气及照明系统。此系统由3000米的双层波纹管,400盏节能灯,100米LED条形灯,50根庭院灯杆,125个检查井及井盖,16000米电缆和阻燃电线以及为此而挖掘的2500米沟渠建造而成。 

 

值得一提的是,在过去一年中与寺庙管理者的接触,让我们彼此建立了更为紧密和信任的关系。由此他们希望在灯光系统设计以外,我们能对寺庙进行更多的改进,其中包括加强园林美化和更换至全新的顶级音响系统。经过精心的计算,加上很多志愿者的无偿慷慨贡献,我们能够在原始的预算内涵盖这些额外改进。 

 

充满爱与虔敬心的劳作

该项目能够走到这个重要的,即将完工的阶段,这与无与伦比的爱心,坚定的承诺和慷慨的付出不无相关。除了我们善意的捐款者以外,还有由电工,建筑师和工人组成的现场团队付出了一整年的汗水。即使是在气温高达40几度的炎热夏天他们仍然辛勤劳作。在朝圣季节期间,我们调整了施工节奏,以免干扰到前来朝圣的信徒们,不管他们是来自孟加拉的农民,还是斯里兰卡的僧侣,又或者是哈佛的教授。

 

大觉寺是如此神圣的文化遗产,为了维持其原貌,我们格外小心地进行每一项工作。尽最大可能的确保石材,油漆,石膏,打磨以及所有固定装置和材料完美地,不为外界所察觉到融合到现有结构中。而这通常需要大量细致地额外工作,从而进度有所减慢。

 

例如,我们没有打一个孔的情况下,在大殿里安装了整套灯具。在阿育王墙周围安装了200盏顶级意大利灯,以照亮这颗伟大的菩提树。但是由于无法做到在大理石上打槽却不留痕迹,因此我们更换了整个大理石,而这项更换工作每次只能以6-8英尺的速度进行。 

 

在安装任何设备之前,精打细算的采购环节,产品质量测试,设计仿真效果等等的过程也是辛苦的。此项目初始以来,始终奉行的基本原则是确保各种环节尽可能使用最耐用的高品质产品,安装过程中尽量维护生态环保,与此同时也细致考虑如何将其融合于寺庙的整体美感,并且保持现有遗迹的原始结构,如有可能在此基础上再进行改进,使得其更为牢固。

 

我们采取了保留传统,同时与现代结合的方式:整套年久失修,隐患重重,极易发生故障的电气系统,被最先进的具现代感且品质卓越的新系统所取代。在安装过程中,遵循环保适用原则,确保最有效的能源利用,为了维护小鸟,树木和夜空的原生态环境,最少使用背光投射技术,以此减少眩光和光线污染。   

 

从黑暗到光明 —— 后续步骤

一旦印度解除封锁,我们将会立刻恢复施工,工程有望在九月完成。到时候,正如宗萨钦哲仁波切说道:“我们很快地会克服目前的黑暗,欢聚在一起。”届时,我们将举行一场美轮美奂的供灯庆典,并将此圆满的工程赠予寺庙。 

 

不止这些,还有个额外的安排,我们要在未来两年内需要聘请两位训练有素且合格的电气和技术专家在现场指导工作,传授知识,培训技能,以确保寺庙工作人员能规范操作和运转新系统,以及维护设备,使之处于最佳状态。 

 

光耀大觉寺的意义远超于技术设备的更新,这更是一个宏大愿景的悄然实现。该项目不仅是我们对寺庙物质层面的献礼,这也是我们为来自世界各个角落的佛教徒 —— 声缘乘,大乘和金刚乘佛教徒的供养,这更是以我们祈愿一切有情众生皆得解脱的愿力来作为对佛法的无上供养之光。 

 

在过去得一年中,我们很高兴地收到了来自全球数百名僧侣,教师,学者,居士的赞扬和鼓励。 

 

在此,光耀大觉寺计划团队的全体人员,感谢您为此计划做出贡献,一起照亮从流行病和黑暗时刻到解脱之光的道路。 

仁波切4月11日关于光耀大觉寺的讯息

To the most venerable Triple Gem, we take refuge and offer
our most precious and beloved possession – our mind that always illuminates.
We offer too all that shines and illumines – from the mighty sun and moon
to the smallest dust particle. And thus, we offer here also our fabricated lights
to illumine the sacred Mahabodhi Temple in Bodhgaya.” 
— Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche

We are thrilled to report that the full budget has now been raised and we wish to thank all who have given time, money, idea, rejoicing, and well wishes to the Lighting the Mahabodhi project.

 

In spring 2019, the Lighting the Mahabodhi (LTM) project officially began  operations at the temple site in Bodhgaya. With the blessings of the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas and the generous support of donors from all over the world, the project has progressed smoothly with the efficient, dedicated, and diligent work of the LTM management and the local work team. Although the on-site work at the Mahabodhi Temple is paused due to the present lockdown in India, the team is monitoring the situation closely and is ready to resume work as soon as conditions allow. In the meantime, the LTM team wishes to share with everyone the progress on the project at its one-year mark.

 

A One-Year Report from the LTM Team 

As much as we are painfully aware of coronavirus epicentres, we must at such difficult times pay extra heed to the epicentre of our own buddhadharma – sacred Bodhgaya. For it was there that Siddhartha, an ordinary human being like us, realized the truth of suffering and the pathway to overcoming the afflictions of birth, old age, sickness, and death.

 

This moment of global woe and suffering may be the perfect time to rekindle the light of wisdom and to celebrate our Lighting the Mahabodhi with the deep aspiration that our effort may free countless beings from the anguish and anxiety they presently endure.

 

Of course, we’ve had to deal with practical issues. India’s 6-week lockdown stopped our work at the Mahabodhi Temple, which had been proceeding beautifully in the spacious quiet of environs almost devoid of pilgrims due to prior travel restrictions. And yet, assuming that the situation is resolved within the next two months, we still hope to finish on schedule by September 2020, and within our budget. 

 

If everything goes well, a grand Light Offering Ceremony is planned for October in which we will offer the entire project, complete with brand new world-class electrical infrastructure and 600 new lights illuminating every part of the temple complex, to the Bodhgaya Temple Management Committee, which runs the temple. We aspire that that the lights will symbolize a new way forward for the world – peaceful, harmonious, prosperous, and at one with nature. 

 

Anguish and celebration

Buddhists know that events are not random but result from causes and conditions. And so we recognize that the present human distress cannot be separated from past human greed, aggression, and ignorance. But that is no reason to sink into grim depression. On the contrary, this is the time to celebrate the seeds of good and wholesome karma wherever they are planted. And in this case, the seeds of noble aspiration and generosity have literally been translated into nuts, bolts, pipes, cables, and light bulbs. 

 

In the past year we have offered to Buddhism’s most sacred shrine 3,000 metres of double-walled corrugated pipes, 400 energy-efficient LED lights, 100 metres of LED strip lights, 60 poles for post-top lights,125 manholes and covers, and 16,000 metres of electrical cables and fire-retardant wires, for which we dug 2,500 metres of trenches. All this and very much more adds up to a high-quality, state-of-the-art, ecologically sound new electrical and lighting system for the site where the Buddha attained enlightenment. 

 

What’s more, over the past year, our relations with the temple management have become so warm and trusting that they have asked us to include many key improvements like extensive landscaping and a new top-notch sound system, which were not in the original lighting design. Through careful budgeting and many generous volunteer and pro bono contributions, we are able to include all this within our original budget. 

 

A labour of love and devotion

To reach this momentous concluding phase has taken unparalleled love, commitment, and generosity. As well as our kind donors, our teams of electricians, architects, and local workers have given their sweat and hard labour on the ground for a full year – working even in sizzling summer temperatures in the mid-40s. And during the pilgrimage season, we’ve adjusted the work to accommodate the needs of all manner of pilgrims, from Bangladeshi farmers to Sri Lankan monks to Harvard professors.

 

Because the temple is such a sacred heritage site, enormous care has been taken at every step to ensure that the stone work, paint, plaster, grinding, polishing, and all fixtures and materials blend immaculately into the existing structure and are entirely camouflaged. That care often takes a lot of cumbersome and meticulous extra work that slows down progress.

 

For example, we did the whole light installation without drilling or placing a single screw into the temple itself. We placed 200 top-quality Italian lights around the Ashoka wall to illumine the great bodhi tree itself. But because we can’t drill into marble without leaving cracks, we replaced the entire marble, working just 6 to 8 feet at a time. 

 

Before installing anything at all, we went through a painstaking process of careful procurement, testing, design simulating, and more. Our basic principle from start to finish in every aspect of this project is to create the most durable, high-quality, ecologically friendly installation possible, adapted fully to the temple aesthetics and leaving the existing heritage structure in the same condition as we found it—or even better.

 

We have joined ancient and modern: We have entirely replaced the old electrical system, which was outdated, obsolete, unsafe, and highly vulnerable to breakdowns with a modern, reliable, safe, state-of-the-art electrical system. And we’ve followed the best environmental practices, ensuring the most efficient energy use; minimal backlighting, glare, and light pollution; and full sensitivity to birds, trees, and the night-time sky.   

 

From darkness to light – the next steps

As soon as India’s lockdown eases, we will resume our work and hopefully will complete it by September. And then, as Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche says, “we will soon celebrate overcoming this present darkness by coming together” for a wonderful light offering ceremony to offer the entire completed project to the temple. 

 

That’s not all that lies ahead. Another unanticipated need is that we must keep two highly trained electrical and technical experts on site for the next two years to ensure full and proper knowledge transfer and skills training to the temple staff on operating and maintaining the new system and equipment in optimal condition. 

 

Beyond these technical necessities, something much greater is being quietly achieved. Lighting the Mahabodhi is not just our gift to the “temple” as a physical entity, but to Buddhists – Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana – from every corner of the world, and to the buddhadharma as a light of inspiration and liberation for all beings. 

 

Over this past year we’ve been heartened to show the work in progress and to receive such positive feedback and encouragement from hundreds of monks, teachers, scholars, and lay people worldwide. 

 

Thank you, from all of us on the Lighting the Mahabodhi team, for helping light the way from pandemic and darkness to luminous liberation. 

READ RINPOCHE’S MESSAGE ON LTM.