“和平軍”(巴利語為:Santi Sena),是一個致力於和平、社會正義和環境保護的團體。和平軍組織正著手改善柬埔寨的柴楨省以及波蘿勉省的30所佛教學校。

Svey Sokhoar寺廟佛教小學的學生

五年來,在欽哲基金會的支持下,柴楨省的和平軍佛教學校及其相應的社區外展計劃,已經在教育以及社會層面產生了顯著的影響,包括:

  • 就讀佛教小學的學生人數增加,目前已達464位
  • 受助學校的佛教與世俗的教育品質得以提升,包括提供佛教與世俗的書籍以及其他教材
  • 規范化柴楨省所有的佛教小學
  • 與當地電台合作「佛法對話與禪修」節目,增進大眾對佛教教育的理解與認知
  • 延續南傳佛教社會的傳統,有更多男女孩童短期出家,家長們讓孩子出家為僧的意願也提高
佛教學校在Prech寺廟的外展活動

最初和平軍展開教育項目之時,即與省城在地的關鍵人物溝通,查明佛教中小學所面臨的最迫切的需求。他們發現了需要面對的諸多挑戰,包括學校缺乏物資與設備以及教師薪水過低,這表示學校無法好好運作。

再者,與不丹的狀況頗為相似的是,柬埔寨正經歷一場社會性的變遷,那就是不再傾向於讓孩童在寺院的環境下受教育。特別是由於柬埔寨鄉間越來越多的成衣工廠,成千上百的就業機會改善了家庭經濟。同時,公立學校的品質也有所提升。這使得父母越來越不願意讓孩子受戒。和平軍藉由提升佛教學校的教育品質以應對這個潮流變化。

基於柴楨省的成功案例,和平軍在波蘿勉省發起一項計劃,在10所佛教學校中提升佛學教育品質,以及推廣佛學價值。新的計劃將借鉴先前柴楨省20所佛教學校的案例經驗。預計達成以下目標:

  • 從改善設施、能力提升、激發年輕世代的佛教意識這幾方面來加强學校的实力
  • 鞏固兩所佛教中學以及八所佛教小學,从而改善佛教學教育质素
  • 在波蘿勉省鄉村社區宣導对于染毒的危險性的认知,也傳達高棉文化以及佛教價值的重要性

Santi Sena is Pali for a group that works for peace, social justice, and environmental protection. Santi Sena the organization is working to improve 30 Buddhist schools in the Svey Rieng and Prey Veng provinces of Cambodia. 

Students at Wat Svey Sokhoar Buddhist Primary School.

In the past five years, with support from KF, the Santi Sena Buddhist school and corresponding community outreach program in Svey Rieng have had a significant impact on both educational and social levels, including:

  • An increased number of students studying in Buddhist primary schools, now up to 464 students
  • A higher quality of Buddhist and secular education across the supported schools, including providing more Buddhist and secular books and other educational materials 
  • Standardization of Buddhist primary schools across the Svey Rieng province 
  • Increased awareness and understanding of Buddhist teachings through hosting a talk radio show, “Dharma Conversation and Meditation”
  • More children, boys and girls, taking short ordinations and increased interest in parents sending children to become monks 
School outreach at Wat Prech.

Santi Sena started the education project by talking with stakeholders across the province to determine the greatest needs for Buddhist secondary and primary schools. They discovered multiple challenges to address, including a lack of materials and equipment at schools and low salaries for teachers. This meant that schools that could not function at their highest level.

In addition, similar to in Bhutan, one of the challenges in Cambodia is the societal shift away from children getting education at monastic settings. Particularly with the increased number of garment factories in Cambodia’s rural communities, thousands of new jobs are improving the finances of families. This, along with better government schools, has led parents to be less interested in having their children ordained. Santi Sena is working to counter this trend by increasing the quality of Buddhist education.

Building on the success of the project in Svey Rieng, Santi Sena is implementing a program to improve the quality of Buddhist education and promote Buddhist values in 10 additional Buddhist schools in Prey Veng province. The new program will adapt lessons learned from previous work at the 20 Buddhist schools in the Svey Rieng province. The program hopes to:

  • Strengthen the schools through improving facilities, building capacity, and promoting awareness of Buddhism in the younger generation
  • Improve the quality of Buddhist education by strengthening two Buddhist secondary and eight Buddhist primary schools
  • Promote awareness of the dangers of drug use, as well as the importance of Khmer culture and Buddhist values in the rural communities of Prey Veng