钦哲公告
2022年8月

 

菩提伽耶大觉寺内殿照明艺术设计国际比赛

 

雄心万丈的“光耀大觉寺”计划即将圆满。作为最后、最审慎、也是最重要的一步,悉达多本愿会印度分会宣布举行一场国际设计比赛,邀请各方的灯光设计师在菩提迦耶大觉寺的外殿和内殿设计灯光雕塑/灯光艺术。其目的是在位处大觉寺最核心的这两个神圣的空间设计和创造一套灯光艺术装置。

宗萨钦哲仁波切的愿景是,让现代设计思维和创意与这个神圣空间相结合,创造一个青春、时尚且具有广泛感染力,又同时保留此最神圣场所的历史真实性的艺术装置。我们诚邀富有革新精神和创意思维的艺术家和灯光设计师參加比赛。

请于2022911015期间提交作品。

如有关于设计细节方面的任何查询,请发电邮至buddhalightart@gmail.com

按此提交作品

.

场所(外殿和内殿)

大觉寺朝东,东面有一个小前院,各侧都有供奉佛像的壁龛。从门口进去是外殿,再进去就是内殿,内里供奉着鍍金的佛陀坐像,他右手持触地印以见证他获得证悟。这两個厅殿都有高达6.5米的拱形穹顶。就是在这两个厅殿,我们希望用灯光艺术装置取代现有的吊灯。

灯光艺术/雕塑

灯光艺术作品的形态可根据设计师的愿景而定,并不必须是吊灯;它可以但不是必须发光。使用的材料也是一样,可以是用于吊灯的传统材料,例如水晶、黄铜、铜、金、钢或木材。但你不必局限于常规 ,你的选材可以包含大理石、石头、织物、丝绸、塑料或任何你能想象得到的材料组件都可以。形式亦然。我们鼓励你挑战传统。你的灵感可以包含但并不限于佛教图形、符号和形狀。你需要考虑的限制是这些空间的可用体积和悬挂/吊装机制,因为你的作品必须悬挂在拱顶的天花板上。

这里对佛教徒來说是最神圣的处所,是宇宙的中心,请带着这种敏感度充分考虑这一现实,然后让您的创意奔流。

比赛规章和提案标准

请考虑以下的设计标准:

  • 设计的整体创新性
  • 创新和可持续的材料
  • 可广泛地实际运用
  • 制造的可行性
  • 佛教的美学观
  • 易于使用和维护

 

关于提交的作品

  • 所有参赛作品必须以PDF/PPT格式提交。
  • 参赛作品的所有细节和设计必须完整,以确保可用于制作/制造。
  • 参赛作品必须是原创,不得侵犯任何创作版权。
  • 欢迎个人或团队提交作品。
  • 参赛作品将根据其概念设计(草图、效果图和灵感)进行评估。

 

评判标准

比赛的评审团由知名杰出的设计师和艺术家组成,而他们都受到佛陀和大觉寺的启发。他们将根据以下的标准来评判参赛作品:          

  • 设计背后的愿景和灵感故事
  • 在佛教意义上的美学观
  • 制造的可行性
  • 易于维护
  • 提交的设计如何大胆并富有创意地与现有的圣殿相结合

条款和细则

  • 参赛者完成提交作品即被视为同意允许提交的图像、草图和效果图等等可被用作市场营销和宣传材料。
  • 被提交的设计和材料是参赛者提供给“光耀大觉寺”委员会的免费供养。不会导致或暗示“光耀大觉寺” 委员会承担任何版权或财务责任。
  • “光耀大觉寺”委员会保留在制造阶段调整获选作品进行的权利,以适应现场使用需要。

 

背景

大觉寺建筑群是联合国教科文组织世界遗产。以下资料取材自联合国教科文组织的网页。

大觉寺建筑群是与佛的生平有关的四个圣地之一, 尤其与他获得证悟有关。寺庙最初由阿育王在公元前三世纪所建造,而现存寺庙的历史则可追溯到公元五世纪或六世纪。它是最早期完全用砖建成的佛教寺庙之一,从笈多时代晚期至今,一直矗立在印度。

对于所有佛教修行者来说 ,大觉寺也许是最神圣的朝圣场所;它是联合国教科文组织的世界遗产,标志着历史上的佛陀获得正觉之处。除了佛陀于其下禅坐并圆满证悟的原来那棵菩提树的后裔,比哈尔邦的菩提伽耶还有另外六处圣地。

光耀大觉寺

这项被称为“光耀大觉寺”的神圣计划,也许是佛教有史以来最前卫的供灯盛事。其目标是彻底改造大觉寺建筑群已老化的照明和电力系统,造就历史上最大规模、最持久的供灯(供光)。

宗萨钦哲仁波切于2015年提议这项计划,并于2017年获得菩提伽耶寺院管理委员会的批准。宗萨钦哲仁波切领导下的佛法教育组织悉达多本愿会印度分会承担了执行整个计划的任务。

全新的照明系统最终将归寺院委员会所有。除了凸显圣殿和朝拜场所的庄严,这些系统升级将提高佛教朝圣者的安全和舒适度,并切合寺庙、朝圣者、以及在那里举行的仪式和典礼的特殊需要。

自从2019春季计划启动开始,我们已经在整个大觉寺建筑群的大约50个位置安装了近1500盏灯,並且铺设了超过10公里长的通电和控制电缆、面板、户外组件、不间断电源、调光控制等等最先进的艺术照明和电力基础设施。我们还在主寺内外装设了一套全新的音响系统。我们满怀期待和振奋,希望确保这些珍贵献礼能够既富有时代特色、又能成为经典,无惧岁月磨砺,长远而持续地启发大众。这个项目和它在这个圣地创造的美学,已得到来自菩提伽耶寺院管理委员会,还有朝圣者、当地工作人员和广大佛教僧团的广泛好评。

整个计划由世界各地的捐赠者通过钦哲基金会众筹而成。设计概念和工程细项也是来自专业顾问和设计师(Design Matrix Be Lit的特别供养。

阅读关于“光耀大觉寺”的更多报告

相关图片: 

 

设计图示

KF ANNOUNCEMENT
AUGUST 2022

 

International Competition

Sanctum Light Art of the Mahabodhi Temple, Bodhgaya 

 

The ambitious Lighting the Mahabodhi (LTM) project is almost complete. For the final, most sensitive, and most important step, Siddhartha’s Intent India is announcing an international competition for the design of a light sculpture/light art installation in the outer and inner sanctums of the temple. The goal is to design and create a light art installation in these two sacred spaces in the heart of the temple.

Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s vision is for modern design thought and creativity to be joined with this sacred space to create an art installation that has wide, youthful, and contemporary appeal while preserving the historical authenticity of this most sacred of sites. We are calling for innovative, creative artists and light designers to join the competition.

Please submit your entry between September 1 and October 15, 2022.

If you have questions that aren’t answered by the information in the guidelines and specifications, please write to buddhalightart@gmail.com.

Please submit here.

The Space (Outer Hall and Inner Sanctum)

The temple faces east and consists of a small forecourt in the east with niches on either side that contain statues of the Buddha. A doorway leads into a small hall, beyond which lies the inner sanctum, which contains a gilded statue of the seated Buddha touching the earth as witness to his attainment of enlightenment. Both of these halls have vaulted ceilings reaching a height of 6.5 meters. We are looking to replace the existing chandeliers with a  light art installation.

The Light Art/Sculpture

The form of the light art installation is up to the vision of the artist. It’s not necessarily a chandelier. It doesn’t need to have light output, but it can. The materials used can be the conventional ones used in a chandelier, such as crystal, brass, copper, gold, steel, or wood. But you need not be limited by convention. Your palette can include marble, stone, fabric, silk, plastic, or whatever material you imagine. Similarly with the form. We encourage you to defy convention. You may be inspired by Buddhist shapes, symbols, and forms, but don’t be limited. The limitations are the volume available in the spaces and the hanging or suspending mechanism; the installation has to be suspended from the ceiling of the vault.

This is the most holy space for Buddhists, the navel of the universe. With sensitivity to this fact, let your creativity flow.

Guidelines and Submission Criteria

Consider the following design criteria:

  • Innovative character of the overall design
  • Innovative and sustainable use of materials
  • Breadth of practical application
  • Practicality of manufacturing
  • Aesthetics in the context of Buddhism
  • Ease of use and maintenance

About the Entries

  • Entries should be in PDF or PPT format.
  • Entries should be complete in detail and design to enable fabrication and manufacturing.
  • Entries must be original creations that don’t infringe on any creative copyright.
  • Individuals or teams are welcome to submit.
  • Entries will be evaluated on their concept design (sketches, renderings, and inspiration).

Judging Criteria

The competition jury includes renowned and eminent designers and artists who are inspired by the Buddha and the Mahabodhi temple. They will judge entries by the following criteria:

  • The vision, the story of inspiration behind the design
  • Aesthetics in the context of Buddhism
  • Practicality of manufacturing
  • Ease of maintenance
  • How the proposed design would tie in with the existing sacred sanctum, while being bold and creative

Terms and Conditions

  • With their submission, the entrant agrees to allow the use of all submitted imagery, sketches, renderings, etc., solely for marketing and promotional material.
  • The submitted design and material are free offerings by the entrant to the LTM committee. No copyright or financial burden is created or implied on the LTM committee.
  • The LTM committee reserves the right to adapt the selected design in the manufacturing stage, for appropriate site use.

Background

The Mahabodhi Temple Complex is a UNESCO World Heritage site. This description is largely based on their website.

The Mahabodhi Temple Complex is one of the four holy sites related to the life of  the Buddha, and particularly to his attainment of enlightenment. The first temple was built by Emperor Asoka in the 3rd century B.C., and the present temple dates back to the 5th or 6th century C.E. It is one of the earliest Buddhist temples built entirely of brick, still standing in India, from the late Gupta period.

The Mahabodhi Temple, perhaps the most sacred of all pilgrimage sites for Buddhist practitioners, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site that marks the place where the historical Buddha attained awakening. In addition to the descendant of the original Bodhi tree under which the Buddha sat and contemplated enlightenment, there are six other sacred sites in Bodhgaya, Bihar.

Lighting the Mahabodhi

 “Lighting the Mahabodhi” is perhaps the most ambitious Buddhist light offering ever undertaken. The objective of this sacred endeavor is to completely overhaul the temple complex’s aged lighting and electrical systems.

Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche proposed the undertaking in 2015, and in 2017 received approval from the Bodhgaya Temple Management Committee (BTMC). Siddhartha’s Intent India, a Buddhist educational organisation under Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche, undertook the task of executing the entire project.

The new lighting system will ultimately be owned by the BTMC. In addition to highlighting the magnificence of the sacred temple and places of worship, the upgrades will improve the safety and comfort of Buddhist pilgrims. They are designed to meet the specific needs of the temple, the pilgrims, and the rituals and ceremonies conducted there.

Since work began on the project in the spring of 2019, we have installed close to 1,500 lights in about 50 locations in the Mahabodhi Temple complex. We have laid over 10 kilometres of electrical and control cables, panels, outdoor enclosures, UPSs,  dimming controls, and other state-of-the-art lighting and electrical infrastructure. We have also installed a brand-new sound system, within and outside of the main temple. We are eager and excited to make sure that this precious offering is both contemporary and classic and is built to survive the ravages of time so that it will continue to inspire people in the long run. The project, and the aesthetic it has created at this holy site, have been very well received, not just by the BTMC and its members, but also by pilgrims, local staff, and the wider Buddhist sangha.

The entire project was crowdfunded by donors from around the world through the efforts of Khyentse Foundation. We are also grateful to the lighting consultants and designers Design Matrix and Be Lit for their initial and on-going consultations on the project.

Read more reports on Lighting the Mahabodhi.

Images (before and after): 

Plan view