文献保存

钦哲基金会护持致力于保存藏文、巴利文、梵文及其他亚洲语言之重要佛教文献的组织或个人。其中许多文献不仅包含佛陀的教法,也记述了例如玄学(形而上学)、伦理学、哲学、心理学、医学、诗歌、艺术等诸多不同主题的丰富历史细节。

钦哲基金会护持文献保存方面的三大机构:

佛教数字资源中心(BDRC)

佛教数字资源中心(Buddhist Digital Resource Center ,原藏传佛教资源中心 | Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center) 的工作是最佳范例,彰显出钦哲基金会对于理想合作伙伴的赞助能够产生非凡的影响。藏传佛教资源中心怀有广大、独特的愿景,即以数字形式保存藏人的文献,并通过具体可行的目标实现此愿景。这项工作对佛教未来产生的深远影响,已经远远超过初创时期的设想范畴。该中心在1999年至2014年之间扫描超过18,000函文献(950万页),持续为公众提供在线和离线皆可阅读的数字文档,并且开发出一个稳健的工作模式,适用于任何一种语言、任何一个主题的文献保存。

GeneSmithatHome-NewDelhi1982琴恩·史密斯在新德里的家中,1982年

琴恩·史密斯在1999年创立BDRC,以收集、保存、整理、数字化和弘扬藏文文献,造就出一个独一无二的现代数位图书馆。这是一个无与伦比的庞大收藏,收集拥有1,300多年光辉灿烂历史的各类藏文文献,不仅包括哲学和宗教论典,还包括如传统医学、占星术、天文学、炼金术、艺术、历史、地理、传记、文法、民俗文化、诗歌等各项领域的著作。

使用现金的数字科技,BDRC协助确保这个世界的珍贵智慧遗产不会因政治、社会、天然灾害等因素被破坏和遗失,或,并能保存供未来世代所共享。钦哲基金会致力于护持BDRC的工作,并延续其创始人琴恩·史密斯的遗业。

贝叶基金会

钦哲基金会护持由彼得·史基林教授主持的“贝叶基金会”(Fragile Palm Leaves Foundation) 保存计划。这是一个位于泰国曼谷的非营利组织,其目标是保存古老的巴利文佛教手稿,并提供给世人使用。

除了巴利文手稿,此计划还收藏其它数种东南亚语文的手稿,例如缅甸语、掸语(Shan)、泰国亢语(Tai Khun)、泰国傣仂语(Tai Lue)及缅甸孟语(Mon)等。这些手稿有多种形式,主要是书写在贝叶上,但也有书写在纸上或其他材料上。钦哲基金会奖助金资助贝叶基金会的日常运管。

钦哲藏传佛教文献研究中心

德国汉堡大学亚非学院印度学和藏学系于2011年成立“钦哲藏传佛教文献研究中心”。在多吉旺秋教授的领导下,该中心致力于以佛教为主的藏文文献学术研究,主要目标是增强藏传佛教文献研究、增进该领域的学术交流,以及促进欧洲、北美、亚洲等地研究人员和学生之间的合作。

仁波切的愿景是通过钦哲基金会的事业,促进对佛教文献传统的研究,此愿景深深启发了汉堡大学印藏学系的藏学教授多吉旺秋。多吉旺秋教授表示,“汉堡大学钦哲中心与钦哲基金会宏大的目标与工作规划架构非常契合。这个中心不仅在欧洲,乃至在全世界,其学术焦点、形式和功能都是独一无二的。这是对宗萨钦哲仁波切的愿景和事业真正的敬意。”多吉旺秋教授描述钦哲中心是一个“对藏文(以佛教为主)文献进行缜密研究的坚强堡垒,其目标是要精准地了解藏传佛教哲学和西藏丰富的知识历史。”

“钦哲基金会推广原始语言文献的深入研究。尽管人们对于正念等佛教概念的探讨和护持日益增加,但却更重视其在相对积极的效果,例如减压或控制愤怒等,因而经常淡化甚或脱离了佛教基本的四法印见地。护持严谨的学术研究,使佛教这个智慧传统得以完整保存至关重要。”

陈季佩

钦哲基金会执行长

“藏传佛教资源中心与钦哲基金会的合作,是维持我们组织健全的关键之一。钦哲基金会不仅提供财务资助,也协助我们的管理与策略规划。大家应该知道,钦哲基金会不仅挹注经费,也为我们提供人力资源。钦哲基金会执行长陈季佩 (同时也是藏传佛教资源中心董事会成员) 和策略规划专家洪王德璋对于我们的策略规划与评测指标的制定,尤为重要。从那时起,我们开始汇报中心的重点工作--庞大数据处理。现在我们知道应该如何大规模地推进工作。”

杰夫·沃曼

藏传佛教资源中心执行长

相关消息

Text Preservation

Khyentse Foundation supports organizations and individuals engaged in the preservation of seminal Buddhist texts in Tibetan, Pali, Sanskrit, and other Asian languages. Many of these texts contain the Buddha’s teachings as well as rich historical detail about such topics as metaphysics, ethics, philosophy, psychology, medicine, poetry, and art. 

The three major recipients of KF support for text preservation are:

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC)

The work of the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) is a prime example of the outstanding impact KF funding can make when matched with ideal partners. TBRC’s vast and unique vision of digitally preserving the literature of the Tibetan people, realized by concrete, actionable goals has significantly affected the future of Buddhism far beyond the scope of TBRC’s founding vision. Between 1999 and 2014, TBRC scanned more than 18,000 volumes (9.5 million pages), continuously making them accessible in digital formats on and offline, and developed a robust model for preservation that can be replicated in any language for any topic.

GeneSmithatHome-NewDelhi1982E. Gene Smith founded TBRC in 1999 to collect, preserve, organize, digitize, and disseminate Tibetan literature. The result is a modern digital library unlike any other, an unparalleled collection of texts that illuminate more than 1,300 years of Tibetan literature. The texts include not only philosophical and religious treatises, but works on traditional medicine, astrology, astronomy, alchemy, art, history, geography, biography, grammar, folk culture, and poetry.

By using the latest digital technology, TBRC is helping to ensure that the treasures of this world wisdom heritage will not be lost or endangered again due to political, social, or natural disasters, and will be available for future generations. Khyentse Foundation is committed to supporting the work of the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center and continuing Gene’s legacy.

Fragile Palm Leaves Foundation

Khyentse Foundation supports the preservation initiative led by Professor Peter Skilling of the Fragile Palm Leaves Foundation, a nonprofit foundation based in Bangkok, Thailand. The aim of FPL is to preserve ancient Pali Buddhist manuscripts and make them widely available.

The project’s collection also includes manuscripts in several Southeast Asian languages other than Pali, including Burmese, Shan, Tai Khun, Tai Lue, and Mon. These manuscripts are in a variety of formats, primarily on palm leaf but also on paper and other materials. KF grants aid the day-to-day operation of FPL.

Khyentse Center for Tibetan Buddhist Textual Scholarship

The Khyentse Center for Tibetan Buddhist Textual Scholarship in the Department of Indian and Tibetan Studies, Asia-Africa Institute, University of Hamburg was founded in 2011. Under the direction of Professor Dorji Wangchuk, the center is devoted to the scholarly investigation of Tibetan texts, primarily Buddhist. The main objectives of the center are to strengthen Tibetan Buddhist textual scholarship, enhance academic exchange in the field, and promote cooperation between researchers and students from Europe, North America, and Asia.

Professor Wangchuk, professor of Tibetology in the university’s Department of Indian and Tibetan Studies, was greatly inspired by Rinpoche’s vision in promoting the study of Buddhist textual traditions through the activities of Khyentse Foundation. According to Professor Wangchuk, “The Khyentse Center at the University of Hamburg fits well in the broader framework of Khyentse Foundation’s agendas and aspiration and is unique in its academic focus, form, and function, not only in Europe, but worldwide. It is a true tribute to Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s vision and activities.” Professor Wangchuk described the Khyentse Center as “a stronghold of rigorous investigation of Tibetan (primarily Buddhist) texts that has the aim of gaining an accurate understanding of Tibetan Buddhist philosophy and Tibet’s rich intellectual history.”

“Khyentse Foundation promotes in-depth study of the texts in their original languages. While there is increasing support for exploration of Buddhist concepts such as mindfulness, the emphasis is more on relatively positive effects such as stress reduction or anger control. Often it is watered down and divorced from the essential Buddhist view of the four seals. It is so important that we support rigorous academic studies so that the wisdom tradition can be preserved in its entirety.”

Cangioli Che

KF Executive Director

“TBRC’s collaboration with Khyentse Foundation is a critical part of the health of our organization. Not only does KF provide key financial support, they also supported us in governance and strategic planning. It’s important for people to know that Khyentse Foundation not only gives generously of funds, but of people. KF Executive Director Cangioli Che (also a board member of TBRC) and strategist Ivy Ang were absolutely critical to the development of strategic plans and metrics that we could report against. It was the beginning of our reporting the huge numbers that are a part of our organizational focus—we know how to do stuff at scale.”

Jeff Wallman

Executive Director, The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Project