佛教的大护法之二:德格王 登巴泽仁

佛教的大护法之二:德格王 登巴泽仁

宗萨钦哲仁波切 佛教的大护法 系列之二

登巴泽仁(Tenpa Tsering;1678-1738)在第八世大司徒确吉炯内(1700-1774)时期,为藏东德格王。宗萨钦哲仁波切说︰“他是佛教最伟大的护法之一。尽管护法常常被人忽略,但护法的存在却非常重要。他们表现在外不见得是精进修行的样子,但却是不可或缺的。”仁波切建议我们要了解这位伟大的藏族国王所留下的宝藏。

登巴泽仁建立了德格地区白雅寺的主殿,其中有非常庄严的佛像壁画和绘画。他最重要的护法事业则是印刷重要经典:他和第八世大司徒一起创立了德格印经院,制作了超过五十万片的经书木雕板,这些木雕版的精致品质是前所未有的。仁波切提到︰“为了使他的功业不朽,他答应木工雕匠们,雕板上的字沟能放进多少金子,就给他们多少金子。”“很聪明吧!这当然使得工匠们在木板上能刻多深就刻多深。”如此一来,也让这些木雕板抵挡住岁月的侵蚀。

使这项珍贵遗产发扬光大的是琴恩·史密斯(Gene Smith)博士。他是一位著名的西藏文献专家,他所主持的藏传佛教资源中心(Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center; TBRC)最近发表了数字化的德格版藏文《大藏经》,即包含经、律、论的《甘珠尔》和《丹珠尔》。《甘珠尔》共103卷,主要是结集释迦牟尼佛以各种示现化身说法的经典;《丹珠尔》则有213卷,主要是历代伟大上师对《甘珠尔》的阐释与论著。最早德格印经院只印制了六份出版品,这些典籍立刻被尊奉为珍宝,只有特殊的朱墨才能用在这些木雕版上,而且只在西藏和蒙古的特定寺庙、闭关中心和贵族家中流通。 TBRC的网站将其保存教法的成就归功于德格印经院,并且提到︰“正是因为这些佛法的智慧宝藏,才使得大乘佛法自八世纪被着手翻译以来,能够历经数百年而存续至今。”TBRC网站上还有很多丰富的资讯,记录着这些初版作品(藏文︰巴布)是如何受到保护,直到最终被引入数字化的过程。

仁波切说︰“没有这些伟大的护法王,就没有这些珍藏文典,尤其是不会有德格版的《甘珠尔》。”《丹珠尔》则是在继任的德格王拉千·彭措·登巴任内,由竹庆·仁钦(1697-1774)主编完成。数字化德格版《甘珠尔》的发表,具体展现了TBRC对维续、保存及提供各界所需的丰富西藏文化遗产所做的承诺。TBRC预计很快就会发表德格《甘珠尔》在初版作品之后的增补经书,以及包含德格版《丹珠尔》的数码化搜寻索引。

钦哲基金会的核心宗旨之一就是要建立一个护持系统,支持研修佛陀悲智法教的团体或个人。就意义上来说,琴恩·史密斯博士是在延续大司徒的工作,而钦哲基金会则是遵循登巴泽仁王护持佛法的足迹。基金会很荣幸能护持琴恩·史密斯和TBRC的出版工作,也期许更多人能够共襄盛举。

2003年冬季

读者留言 :

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Part II: King Tenpa Tsering

Part II: King Tenpa Tsering

Part II in a series of discussions with Rinpoche

King Tenpa Tsering (1678-1738), lived in Derge, Eastern Tibet in the era of the 8th Tai Situ, Chökyi Jungney (1700-1774). “He was one of the greatest patrons of Buddhism,” says Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche. “Patrons are important even if they are often forgotten. They may not always appear to practice so diligently but they are essential.” Rinpoche recommends that we take a look at the legacy left by this great Tibetan king.

King Tenpa Tsering built the main temple at the Pewar Monastery in Derge, which houses a very fine set of Buddhist murals and paintings. But his most important patronage was of printing important texts. Together with the 8th Tai Situ, he established the Derge Printing Press which produced over half a million wood block prints of unprecedented fine quality. “In the interest of making his legacy long-lasting he promised to pay the wood carvers as much gold as could be filled into the grooves of their work,” says Rinpoche. “Clever isn’t it? Of course, they would carve the scriptures as deep as they could.” And therefore the original blocks withstood time.

Furthering this legacy, Gene Smith, a renowned expert on Tibetan literature, and his US based Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC), recently released digitally scanned versions of the Derge editions of the Buddhist canon, the Kangyur and the classic commentaries, the Tengyur. The 103 volume Kangyur is a collection of all the Lord Buddha’s teachings in all his various manifestations. The Tengyur consists of 213 volumes of commentaries by great masters. Originally only six copies were made by the Derge press and they were instantly revered as treasures. Only special vermillion ink was allowed to touch the blocks. They were circulated only to selected monasteries, hermitages, and temples of Tibet and Mongolia and important families. On the TBRC web site credit is given to the work of the Derge Printing Press for preserving these teachings. “It was because of these treasuries of Buddhist wisdom that the Mahayana tradition survived through many centuries from the time that the translations began in the 8th century.” The TBRC web site contains much more interesting information about how the parphud or “first fruit printings” were kept safe and eventually brought to the digital age.

“These collections, in particular the Derge Kangyur would not have come into being without the patronage of great kings,” says Rinpoche. The Tengyur was completed under the patronage of the next ruler of Derge, Lachen Puntsog Tenpa, under the editorship of Tsultrim Rinchen (1697-1774). This release of the digital set of the Derge Kangyur marks TBRC’s commitment to sustaining, preserving and making available the rich heritage of the Tibetan people. In the near future, TBRC intends to issue the post-parphud additions to the Derge Kangyur as well as a searchable digital index with the accompanying Derge Tangyur.

One of the guiding principles of Khyentse Foundation is to complement and support institutions and individuals with like goals, namely fostering the study and practice of Buddhism. In a sense, Gene Smith is continuing the work of the Tai Situ and the Foundation is following in King Tenpa Tsering’s footsteps as a patron of such work. The Foundation is delighted to grant its support to Gene Smith and TBRC as part of its Publication Fund efforts and encourages others to do so as well.

Winter 2003

Skills

Posted on

October 2, 2015

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *