圖:仁波切在台灣,2021年1月。攝影:帕武

 

智慧之語系列之二
2021年2月

仁波切談超越佛法標籤

 

2020年,一場突如其來的疫情讓我們聚少離多,但也令我們許多人得以通過線上活動與仁波切見面。無論是開示、法會、網上聚會或者其他來自印度和台灣的直播活動,遍布全球各地的人們通過Zoom線上會議積極參與,讓我們感覺與仁波切深深相連。

在我們的一些線上活動中,仁波切談到欽哲基金會和他對本機構的願景。為了和大家分享仁波切的話語, 我們自2020年12月推出了【智慧之語系列】。隨著基金會展開新的工作重點,我們誠邀您與我們一起思考這些話語。

仁波切談及很多話題,但其中一個主題一再被重申,那就是基金會如何能夠,也必須要找到新的方式,和那些正處於困境且暫未值遇佛法的人們建立關聯。

佛經、論典等教法包含了如此豐富的方法, 教我們如何幫助人們、如何幫助他們讓自己的心保持韌性、讓自己的情緒變得可控。我一直在思考,可以將這些方法昭然於世。

欽哲基金會一直以來且將永遠是一個致力於護持佛法研習和修持的佛教機構,要超越佛教這個標籤, 對於基金會來講比較新穎。儘管如此,我們在擴大志業範疇的同時,始終心懷最終使命 —— 保存佛法,保存佛陀的智慧及修持。正如仁波切在一次線上活動中提到:「我們希望使佛法易於被現代人理解,同時又不能失去它的真實面貌。」這是對目前任務的一個很好的總結。處於當今科技快速發展、而未來又不明朗、不確定的時代,仁波切多次強調佛陀的教法比以往更合時宜。

我們在談論佛法的保存與弘揚,並非僅在保存和弘揚某種文化或世俗價值,像是社會主義或民主,或者某種文化。的而且確,我們要保存和弘揚的智慧和方便,將使我們自己和其他有情覺醒。我們嘗試保存的是, 能令眾生解脫的善巧方便和智慧。利他的思維是不可思議的。

 

考慮他人的價值觀和幸福,並非僅指短暫的幸福,而是去考慮他人的覺醒,僅此思考就不可思議。我們經常會問,為什麼要修持佛法?因為我們要通過修持佛法而獲得證悟。作為大乘佛法的修持者,我們修持佛法是為了證悟,但是為什麼呢?為什麼我們想要獲得證悟?因為想要幫助別人,對嗎?因此,實現證悟僅是個工具而已。我們想要幫助他人,所以我們嘗試去獲得證悟。實際上,獲得證悟只是個額外的獎勵罷了。真正的利益在於利益他人。

我們從自身體驗中知道佛法能產生的影響,但是這種影響在他人眼中會是什麼樣?隨著21世紀先進科技的發展,佛陀古老的話語跟我們現代的存在方式會有怎樣一種關聯?伴隨著人工智能、線上教育和虛擬聯接這些技術的發展,這兩者之間的關聯性,是仁波切最近思考的一個新重點。對於當今年輕人來講,身份認同、職業和目的或者說「我們是誰?」將更難定義。在此變革中,佛法將越加必要。

圖:仁波切通過Zoom參與錄制 薩嘎達瓦《心經》全球誦讀活動,2020年6月

Photo above: Rinpoche in Taiwan, Jan 2021. Photo credit: Pawo Choyning Dorji

Words of Wisdom 2
February 2021

Rinpoche on Reaching Beyond

Many of us found solace in the numerous opportunities to see Rinpoche online in 2020; teachings, pujas, online gatherings, and other happenings were livestreamed from India and Taiwan, and people were able to join Zoom events from all over the world. Even though our physical access to each other has become limited, thanks to technology we have boundless opportunities to connect.

At some of our online events, Rinpoche talked about Khyentse Foundation and his aspirations for the organization. We started the Words of Wisdom series in December of 2020 with the aspiration to share Rinpoche’s words with you. We invite you to consider these words with us, as the foundation moves into new areas of focus.

Rinpoche spoke on many topics, but one theme that emerged again and again was how KF can, and must, find new ways to connect to those who are suffering and have yet to meet the dharma.

The sutras, the shastras, and our teachings have such wealth on how to assist people, and how to help them make their minds resilient and their emotions manageable. I’ve been thinking that this is something we can introduce to the world.

Khyentse Foundation is, and will always be, a Buddhist organization dedicated to supporting Buddhist study and practice, but reaching beyond the Buddhist label is new for the foundation. Still, as we expand the scope of our efforts, we always think about our ultimate mission, the preservation of the dharma and of Buddhist wisdom and practice. As Rinpoche said at one online event, “We want [dharma] to be understandable for modern people but not lose our own authenticity;“ This is a good summary of the task at hand. At this time of rapidly changing technology and an unclear and uncertain future, Rinpoche repeatedly remarked that the teachings of the Buddha are more relevant than ever.
We are talking about preservation of the dharma and propagation of the dharma. We are not just preserving and propagating some culture or some kind of a worldly value, like socialism or democracy, or some sort of culture. Really, we are preserving and propagating the means and the wisdom that will awaken us and others. We are trying to preserve skillful means and the wisdom that will liberate others. Thinking about others is an incredible thing.

Thinking about others’ values, others’ well-being—and not just temporary well-being, thinking about others’ awakening; that is just incredible. We always ask, Why are we practicing the dharma? We are practicing the dharma to attain enlightenment. As Mahayana practitioners, we practice the dharma for enlightenment—but for what? Why are we trying to gain enlightenment? To help other beings, right? So, actually achieving enlightenment is just a tool. We want to help sentient beings, so therefore we are trying to achieve enlightenment. Actually achieving enlightenment is just a bonus. The real profit is helping others.

We know from our own experience the impact the dharma can have, but what does that impact look like for others? With the advances of technology in the 21st century, how are the ancient words of the Buddha relevant to our modern existence? This relevance, along with the reality of artificial intelligence, online education, and virtual connection, is an important new focus for Rinpoche. For young people today, identity, profession, and purpose—or we could say, “who we are”—will be harder to define. In this, transition, the dharma is becoming even more necessary.
Rinpoche as seen in the Saga Dawa Heart Sutra Global Recitation video, June 2020