2020年11月7日

我沒有太多話要說,但最重要的是我想表達對大家的感謝。這是由衷的感謝,經過深思熟慮的。有時候你們可能找不到我,而我又很健忘、散漫,看起來好像我根本沒有參與,但我想說,其實並不是這樣的。你們都如此具有虔敬心,花了那麼多的心思,動了那麼多腦筋,作出了那麼多美好的祝福,還付出了那麼多的努力。對於這一切,我非常感謝和欣賞。我也很隨喜。付出這麼多時間、精力和資源是一回事,但很多時候無論我們想取得一些什麼成就,結果都沒有獲得真正的成就,因為太難做到了。即使我們取得了一些成就,也往往只是局部的成就。這樣說可能很傲慢,就像川普一樣,但我覺得我們已經取得了很大的成就,這要歸功於我們的捐贈者的慷慨,也要歸功於所有在大半夜努力工作的人。我對此感到非常、非常高興。

在這次疫情期間,我一直在讀佛經,這些佛經都是那麼具有啓發性。在佛經中,當然還有釋論中,有很多提到藏文中所說的pempa和dewa,pempa和denpa ,我不知道這些詞在梵文怎麼說。藏文的Pempa(ཕན་པ་ phan pa)意思是有益的,能利益別人的行為,能給你帶來快樂的行為。Dewa(བདེ་བ་ bde ba)是一種快樂、平衡的狀態。Denpa(བདེན་པ bden pa)是真實、正宗的東西。 這兩個字pempa和dewa是有區別的,是不是很有意思?這些佛經是如此前衛,如此進步,真的很不可思議。它們把這兩個概念區分開來:對我們有益的東西和讓我們快樂的東西。另外,有些佛經講到有些東西是既有益又真實的。佛經上說有些東西可以是有益的,但不一定是真實的;同樣,有些東西可以是有益的,但不一定能帶來快樂。 

我們都想擁有一些利益自己的東西。我們都喜歡這麼想:我們擔心的是什麼是有益的,什麼是無益的。但我認為,我們大抵都是在追求讓我們快樂的東西。這是我們想要的,但其實我們需要的是真理。我們想要快樂,但我們需要了知、實現真理。同樣的,我們想要快樂,但重要的是,我們也要追求有益的東西,不僅僅是對自己有益,而是對大家都有益。為了達到這個目的,我們有這麼多的方式、方法和措施。 

我現在已經快60歲了,在這60年的人間生活中,由於我的惰性和散亂的心,我經常運用智識和透過分析來思考。我研究了一些系統、方法、途徑,它們都令人印象深刻。它們讓我著迷,讓我明白了很多事情。科學、科技、政治制度、哲學、不同的背景和語言。但沒錯,你可以說我已經被佛教徹底洗腦了。我謹記著佛陀的忠告,就是凡事不要只看表面,尤其是佛陀的教法。經過這麼長的時間和思考,就是佛陀的教言,沒有別的了。這是唯一的方法。我聽起來像一個佛教耶和華見證人——但佛法是唯一能利益我們自己和他人的東西。佛法是唯一能讓我們更接近真理的東西。所以,無論如何,佛法是快樂的唯一來源。 

能和大家一起保存、弘揚、維護佛法,我真的非常高興。我們已經做得相當好,超出了我們的想象和夢想。當然,我們都是人,所以當事情進行順利的時候,我們希望做得更多,我們會更貪心。在這種情況下,我們的目的和目標不僅僅是做慈善,而是要做有益的事情,這實際上是快樂的唯一來源。我們應該貪心,應該更有遠見。我們不應該有貧窮的心態——如果有人供養幾十億,我們應該隨時接受,並對這些款項作出規劃。 

我們一直在支持和幫助傳統的,我們所說的佛法源頭地區的人們——緬甸人、泰國人、藏人等等。我們將繼續探討如何維護他們的傳統。我們一直在翻譯佛陀的教言。我們做了教師培訓和領導能力培訓,我覺得我們應該多做一些這方面的工作。我們一直都有參與如何培養我們的孩子的工作,辦兒童學校。我們真的需要在這方面下功夫,我一直在和捐助者談這方面的事情。基金會有很多活動,我們可以考核這些活動,提供一張照片,比如寺院、教師培訓、翻譯等。但是兒童工作,我是新手,我不知道怎麼做。我只知道,我們必須要做。我們已經開始得很晚了。我們必須閉上一隻眼睛,跳進這個計畫。這是很重要的。我們會大力推行這個計畫。 

還有一件事我也覺得非常重要:現代化和佛教。當然,現代化只是一個名詞,它其實只是所有和合事物都是無常的另一種說法。這需要實修。有趣的是,我們有些喇嘛一邊說所有和合事物都是無常的,但所做的每一件事卻好像我們對這概念一無所知。我們似乎想回到以前做事的方法。當然,我們不希望改變核心教法,那樣就失去了所有意義。但教的方式、教的方法、教的對象,這些是欽哲基金會可以做的。我們需要探討如何結合現代元素。《觸地》計劃很令人鼓舞,我特意只要求年輕一代主導這個項目。這是非常令人鼓舞的。 

我也有關於現代閉關的一些想法。每當我們談到閉關的時候,很多人都會想到山和洞穴,一些靜僻的地方。但其實不一定是這樣的,閉關可以是在紐約的頂層公寓里,也可以是在(日本東京)銀座的街道上。我在想應該由誰來教,誰來提供指導。不一定是像我這樣的人,一個已經被標籤為宗教人士的人。我們其實不是在說選擇一位上師或心靈導師,而是在說善知識(梵文kalayanamitra),一個心靈朋友或伴侶。一個商人、建築師、醫生、律師,他們都可以談論無二、正念。我想我們可以在未來的一年里集思廣益。你們可以給我提一些意見。 

除此之外,回到剛才所說的,我真的非常感謝大家付出了這麼多努力。這有點像日本黑道(yakuza)一樣,一旦你進來了,就沒有辦法出去了。當然,你可以改變自己的崗位,也可以因為家庭或健康原因離開,但你的貢獻和你的建議——這是你需要記住的。謝謝你們!

— 宗薩欽哲仁波切

November 7, 2020

I don’t have much to say, but most importantly I want to express my gratitude. This is very sincere gratitude, coming from a lot of contemplation. Sometimes I may disappear, and I’m so absent minded and scattered, it may appear like I’m not on board, so to speak, but I’d like to say that this is not the case. All of you have put in so much heart and head and devotion, lots of good wishes and lots of hard work. For that, I offer my gratitude and appreciation. And I rejoice. It’s one thing to be offering so much time and energy and resources, but many times whatever we are trying to achieve, we don’t really achieve, because it’s so difficult. Even if we do achieve something, it’s often a partial achievement. At the risk of being very proud and like Donald Trump, I think we have achieved so much, due to the generosity of our donors and also to all the people who have worked so hard, at such odd hours. I am very, very happy about this.

At this time, during the pandemic, I’ve been reading the sutras and they’re so inspiring. In the sutras, and the shastras of course, there are many mentions of what in Tibetan they call — I don’t know the Sanskrit term — pempa and dewa and pempa and denpa. Pempa (ཕན་པ་ phan pa) is something that is beneficial; an endeavor that is beneficial, an endeavor that brings you happiness. [Dewa (བདེ་བ་ bde ba) is a happy, balanced state. Denpa (བདེན་པ bden pa) is something that is true, authentic.] Isn’t it interesting that these two [pempa and dewa] are distinguished? It’s incredible, these sutras are so avant garde, so progressive. They differentiate these two; something that benefits us and something that makes us happy. Also, some sutras talk about something that is beneficial and also truthful. The sutras say some things can be beneficial but not really truthful, and similarly, some things can be beneficial but not necessarily bring happiness. 

We all want to have something that benefits us. We like to think that we worry about what is beneficial or not. But I think that by and large we are after what makes us happy. This is what we want, but what we actually need is the truth. We want to be happy, but we need to realize, to actualize, the truth. Similarly, we want to be happy, but it is also important that we pursue what is beneficial, not just for ourselves but for everyone. For that, for this purpose, we have so many ways and remedies and methods. 

I’m nearing 60 now, and in my 60 years of existence on this earth, with my laziness and distracted mind, I have used a lot of intellectual mind and analytical mind. I have explored some of the systems, methods, and ways, and they are very impressive. They have fascinated me and convinced me of a lot. Science, technology, political systems, philosophy, different backgrounds and languages. But yes, you can say that I have been thoroughly brainwashed by Buddhism. I have also taken to heart the advice that Buddha has given, to not take things at face value, especially his teachings. After all this time and contemplation, the words of the Buddha, that is it. This is the only way. I sound like a Buddhist Jehovah’s Witness — but Buddhadharma is the only thing that brings us what is beneficial to self and others. Buddhadharma is the only thing that brings us closer to the truth. Therefore, one way or another, Buddhadharma is the only source of happiness. 

It’s such a joy to work with all of you to preserve, propagate, and support this dharma. We have done quite well. More than we dared to imagine and dream. Of course, we are all human beings, so when things are working, we wish to do more, we have more greed. In this case, our aim and our objective are not just philanthropic but something that is beneficial and actually the only source of happiness. We should be greedy and be thinking more farsightedly. We should not have poverty mentality — if someone is offering billions, we should be ready to accept it and plan according to it. 

We have been supporting and helping the traditional, what we call the source of the dharma — Burmese, Thai, Tibetan. We will continue to explore ideas about how to maintain their traditions. We have been translating the words of the Buddha. We have done teacher and leadership training, I think we should do more of that. We have been engaging with how to raise our kids, having children’s schools. We really need to put our effort into this, and I have been talking to donors. Many of our KF activities, we can assess them and we can provide a picture, like monasteries, teacher training, translation. But working with a kids, I am new to this and I have no idea how to do it. All I know is that we must. We are already very late. We have to close one eye and jump into this project. This is important. We will pursue this vigorously. 

Another thing I also think is very important: modernity and Buddhism. Modernity, of course, is just a term, it’s really just another way of saying that all compounded things are impermanent. This needs to be practiced. It’s funny that some of us lamas talk about how all compounded things are impermanent and yet everything we do is like we have no clue about this. We seem to want to go back to the old way of doing things. Of course, we don’t want to modify the core teachings, then the whole point would be lost, but the way it is taught, how it is taught, to whom it is taught — this is something that KF can do. We need to explore this area, how to incorporate modernity. The Bhumisparsha Project has been encouraging, and I deliberately asked only the younger generation to get involved. It’s very encouraging. 

I’m also exploring ideas about modern retreat. When we think about retreat, many of us think of mountains and caves, something solitary. But it doesn’t have to be, it can be in a New York penthouse, or in a Ginza street. I’m thinking about who will teach people and guide them. Not necessarily someone who looks like me, like a religions person who has been tarnished or stigmatized as a religious person. We are not really talking about choosing a guru or a spiritual master, but kalayanamitra, a spiritual friend or companion. A businessman, a businesswoman, an architect, a doctor, a lawyer, all talking about nonduality, mindfulness, all that. This is something I think we can brainstorm about in the coming year. You can give me ideas. 

Beyond that, coming back, I really, really thank everyone for putting in so much effort. This is a bit like the yakuza situation, once you’re in, there’s no way out. Of course, you can change your position or leave for family or health reasons, but your contribution and your advice — this is something you need to keep in mind. Thank you!

— Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche