迦膩色伽小學為欽哲基金會所護持的最新佛教學校,為8至15歲的孩童提供佛學教育。 該校隸屬於宗薩欽哲仁波切位於印度炯達拉的宗薩欽哲確吉羅卓佛學院。目前第一學年剛圓滿結束,共有120名年輕僧侶入讀和住宿。

迦膩色伽小學的學生大多來自印度和尼泊爾,課程特別著重協助學童透過固定作息來培養家庭和群體的歸屬感,確保他們適應寺院環境。

                    瀏覽上方相簿,以了解校方協助學生建立群體生活的措施,包括設立電腦與技術課、舉辦學年年終和
                                    宗薩欽哲仁波切生日慶祝活動,以及每週與鹿野學苑合辦「歡喜學」課堂。

學生在第一學年的表現讓校方非常鼓舞。除了整體顯示長足進步,語言學習表現更尤其出色。學生在世俗課程中主力學習四種語言,包括漢語、英文、印地語和藏文,授課老師均為母語人士,所用教科書均是為此學校特地編撰。老師將故事融入語言課程中,運用語言學習來教授佛法知識。

項目經理烏瑪・彼達(Uma Pitta)為學校第一學年的成功經驗作出總結:「我們在系統方面正逐步達到平衡。你可以看到一個結構,而課堂的運作也順暢。孩子孜孜不倦地學習,藏文科表現尤其出色,可以看到他們開始說藏語,且在學習文法之餘,同時學習佛法。」

如同欽哲基金會護持的許多項目,迦膩色伽小學是個創舉,這意味著在開展階段遇上很多意料之外的障礙和驚喜。由於其崇高目標是將傳統佛教教育與現代的,甚或與時並進的,全面學習方式揉合一體,因此必須在首學年著重於數項基本的需求, 例如順暢運作就甚為重要。行政人員亦須檢視學生編排、師生比例,當然還有學生的學習成果。未來將會優先考量一些其他的關鍵元素,包括如何完善全面課程以符合這個獨特群體的需求。

The Kanishka School is the newest monastic school for children ages 8 to 15 that KF is supporting. Just wrapping up its first full school year and housing 120 young monks, the school is part of Dzongsar Khyentse Chökyi Lodrö Institute, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s monastic college in Chauntra, India.

The Kanishka School has just successfully completed its first year. Most of the students come from across India and Nepal, and special emphasis is placed on settling the children into the monastic environment, making sure that they have a routine to develop a sense of family and community.   

Review the above gallery to see some of the ways community was developed at the school, including weekly Joy of Learning classes with Deer Park, computer and technology classes, the end of school year celebration, and celebrating Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s birthday.

Based on the first-year results, the school is very happy with how much the students have developed, particularly in their language studies. The secular studies focused on four languages: Chinese, English, Hindi, and Tibetan. All four were taught by native speakers with textbooks created specifically for the school. Teachers used language study to teach dharma lessons, working stories into those lessons.

Uma Pitta, project manager, summed up the successes of this year. “From a systems perspective, there is now some semblance of balance. You can see a structure and the classes are going on normally. Kids are learning. Especially from a Tibetan language perspective, they are doing well because you can see that they started speaking the language and they’re learning grammar and they’re also learning dharma”

Like many of the projects that KF supports, the Kanishka School is a new initiative, which means both unexpected obstacles and pleasant surprises. In its first year, with its lofty goal of melding traditional Buddhist education with a modern, even progressive, approach to comprehensive learning, the school had a few essential needs to focus on. For example, getting the operations running smoothly was fundamental. Administrators evaluated student placement, teacher-student ratios, and of course, student learning outcomes. Going forward, other key elements will take priority, such as refining the comprehensive curriculum to meet the needs of this unique population.