Academic-Awards傑出佛學研究獎

欽哲基金會目前已經與全球四大洲共十所大學的佛學研究課程合作,藉由「欽哲基金會傑出佛學研究獎」推動卓越的佛學研究。基金會每年捐贈各合作院校一千美元,由各系所遴選得獎者。雖然相對於學術研究的龐大費用而言,一千美元不是很大的金額,但欽哲基金會仍希望藉此向這些發心良善且努力不懈的學生們致敬。很多獲獎學生都表示,這項鼓勵為其學業生涯帶來了正面影響。由於這些獎項成效斐然,欽哲基金會計劃將合作對象擴展至十五所大學,國立台灣大學是第一個簽署正式協議的合作夥伴。歡迎進一步閱讀2015年得獎者研究領域的相關訊息

Academic-Awards傑出翻譯獎

欽哲基金會於2011年設立傑出翻譯獎,目標是鼓勵表彰令一般大眾得以接觸佛教文化遺產的卓越翻譯作品。獎項主要是針對將巴利文、梵文、藏文、中文等主要佛教古典語言翻譯為英文的作品,原文可以是來自任何佛教傳統的佛經、釋論、傳記、歷史、儀軌或修行導引。譯文必須為近兩年內出版的作品,由個人或團隊合作完成皆可。若為合譯作品,8,000美元的獎金將由譯者均分。遴選委員會由五位佛教學者組成,包括:娜奧米·阿普爾頓教授(Professor Naomi Appleton)、莎拉·麥克林托克教授(Professor Sarah McClintock)、湯姆·迪勒曼斯教授(Professor Tom Tillemans)、保羅·哈瑞森教授(Professor Paul Harrison),以及委員會主席彼得·史基林教授(Professor Peter Skilling)。

得獎者

2017年史密斯學院的安迪‧羅特曼博士(Dr. Andy Rotman)憑藉譯作《天譬喻經:第二部》(Divine Stories: Divyāvadāna, Part 2),榮獲欽哲基金會傑出翻譯獎。

2016年安‧麥唐諾博士(Dr. Anne MacDonald)翻譯月稱論師《明句論》第一章,並收放在她的新書《明晰之語》(In Clear Words)。此譯作榮獲欽哲基金會傑出翻譯獎。

2015年加州大學柏克萊分校馬克·布魯姆(Mark Blum):《大般涅槃經》前十卷(第一冊),Bukkyo Dendo Kyokai America, Inc. 2013 (BDK英語大藏經系列)。

2014年桂紹隆教授(Professor Shōryū Katsura)及馬克·西德里茨教授(Professor Mark Siderits):龍樹《中論》。

2013年長老菩提比丘(Ven. Bikkhu Bodhi):The Numerical Discourses of the Buddha: A Complete Translation of the Anguttara Nikaya (佛陀的數次講法:《增支部尼柯耶》之完整翻譯)。

2012 年聖十字大學的陶德·路易斯(Todd Lewis)和薩巴納·曼·圖拉達(Subarna Man Tuladhar): Chittadhar Hridaya’s Sugata Saurabha: An Epic Poem from Nepal on the Life of the Buddha(善逝史詩:描述佛陀一生的尼泊爾史詩)。

Watch Prize for Outstanding Translation Video

Academic-Awards歐洲及亞洲傑出佛學博士論文獎 

欽哲基金會於2013年設立傑出佛學博士論文獎,表揚優秀的佛學研究博士生 。此年度獎項的獎金為8,000美元,每年輪流頒發給亞洲區(中國大陸、香港、臺灣)或歐洲區的博士生,遴選對象為該區在提名前兩個學年內撰寫的博士論文。論文必須是具有原創性的研究,且以佛教主要的相關語言寫成,亦應對該研究主題或佛教經典的理解有顯著貢獻。基金會歡迎來自中港臺地區及任何歐洲國家(包括英國)所有正規院校的提名。如欲了解更多訊息,請點擊此處聯繫論文獎項的聯絡人。

得獎者

2014 – 2015年歐洲區得獎者:詹斯·威爾漢·伯格藍博士(Dr. Jens Wilhelm Borgland)和大衛·希金斯博士(Dr. David Higgins)。

2013-2014年亞洲區得獎者:國立臺灣大學趙東明博士

Academic-Awards欽哲基金會終身成就獎

終身成就獎是欽哲基金會所頒發的最高殊榮,獎金為30,000美元,目的是護持得獎者對保存和弘揚佛法持續不斷的利生事業。此獎項的遴選委員會由宗薩欽哲仁波切親自帶領。該獎項不一定每年頒發。

得獎者

2016年鄔史敦·費勒契 (Wulstan Fletcher) 和約翰·康諦 (John Canti)。

2015年法光法師 (Venerable Dhammajoti)。

2012年彼得·史基林教授 (Professor Peter Skilling)。

2011年匿名得獎者。

觀看2016年欽哲基金會終身成就獎視頻

傑出佛學研究獎
合作大學

Chulalongkorn University

朱拉隆功大學 / 泰國

Fudan

復旦大學 / 上海

Hong Kong University

香港大學

National Chen Chi

政治大學 / 台灣

National Taiwan University

台灣大學 / 台灣

SOAS

東方暨非洲研究學院 / 倫敦

北京大學

英屬哥倫比亞大學 / 加拿大

Berkeley

加州大學柏克萊分校

Hamburg

漢堡大學 / 德國

凱拉尼亞大學 / 斯里蘭卡

University of Pennsylvania

賓州大學 / 美國

University of Sydney

雪梨大學 / 澳洲

「我很幸運能成為欽哲基金會獎項的得獎者。對我而言,這獎項有雙重意義:它不但給予我及時的財務援助,亦為我帶來莫大的精神鼓勵。我將永遠感念欽哲基金會及其贊助者,並會將這份感激之情轉化成仁慈的力量,傳遞給每天生活中所遇見的人。」

馬晟楠

2016年傑出佛學研究獎得主, 北京大學

Academic-AwardsAward for Academic Excellence in Buddhist Studies 

Khyentse Foundation currently partners with Buddhist Studies programs at ten universities on four continents to encourage excellence in Buddhist scholarship through the KF Award for Excellence in Buddhist Studies. The foundation provides US$1,000 per university per year, and the departments choose the award winners. In the grand scheme of academic expenses, $1,000 is not a huge sum, but it is our way of showing respect for the good intentions and hard work these students are investing in their studies. Many have expressed that this gesture of encouragement has been a positive influence on their path. Due to the success of these awards, plans are under way to extend the program to fifteen universities. National Taiwan University is the first of these new partners to make a formal agreement. Read about some of the areas of study from the 2015 winners.

Academic-AwardsPrize for Outstanding Translation

With the aim of encouraging and honoring excellence in translation works that make the Buddhist heritage accessible to a broader public, the Khyentse Foundation Prize for Outstanding Translation was initiated in 2011. The prize is for translations from the main classical languages of Buddhism—Pali, Sanskrit, Tibetan, and Chinese—into English. The original text may be a sutra, commentary, treatise, biography, history, liturgy, or practice manual, from any tradition of Buddhism, published within the preceding 2 years. It may be by a single individual or a collaboration. In the latter case, the US$8,000 prize is divided equally among the translators. The selection committee includes five Buddhist scholars: Professors Naomi Appleton, Sarah McClintock, Tom Tillemans, Paul Harrison, and committee chair Peter Skilling.

Winners

2015 Mark Blum of the University of California at Berkeley for The Nirvana Sutra (Mahaparinirvana-sutra), Volume I. Bukkyo Dendo Kyokai America, Inc. 2013 (BDK English Tripitaka Series).

2014 This award was shared between Professor Shōryū Katsura and Professor Mark Siderits for their work on the translation of Nāgārjuna’s Middle Way: Mūlamadhyamakakārikā.

2013 Ven. Bikkhu Bodhi for his work The Numerical Discourses of the Buddha: A Complete Translation of the Anguttara Nikaya.

2012 Todd Lewis, of Holycross University, and Subarna Man Tuladhar for their translation of Chittadhar Hridaya’s Sugata Saurabha: An Epic Poem from Nepal on the Life of the Buddha.

Watch Prize for Outstanding Translation Video

Academic-AwardsAward for Outstanding PhD Dissertation in Buddhist Studies, Europe and Asia 

In 2013, KF established the Award for Outstanding PhD Dissertation, presented every year to an outstanding PhD candidate with a dissertation in the field of Buddhist studies. The US$8,000 awards are alternated annually between those written in universities in China, Hong Kong, or Taiwan and those written in Europe during the two academic years prior to the nomination. The dissertations must be based on original research in the relevant primary language, and they should significantly advance our understanding of the subject or Buddhist scriptures studied. Accredited institutions that offer PhD programs in Buddhist studies or religious studies in China, Hong Kong, or Taiwan, or in any European country (including the United Kingdom), are invited to nominate. For more information, contact the dissertation award coordinator here.

Winners

2014-2015 European Award Winners: Dr. Jens Wilhelm Borgland and Dr. David Higgins

2013-2014 Asian Award Winner: Dr. Chao Tung-Ming of National Taiwan University 

Academic-AwardsThe Khyentse Fellowship

The Khyentse Fellowship is KF’s top honor with a $30,000 award to support the recipient’s continued activity in preserving and promoting the Buddhadharma. Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche personally heads the committee that selects winners. The award may or may not be given annually.

Winners

2016 Wulstan Fletcher and John Canti

2015 Venerable Dhammajoti

2012 KF Fellow Professor Peter Skilling

2011 Fellow (anonymous)

Watch 2015 KF Fellowship Video

Award for Academic Excellence in Buddhist Studies Partner Universities

Chulalongkorn University

Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Fudan

Fudan University, Shanghai

Hong Kong University

Hong Kong University

National Chen Chi

National Cheng Chi University, Taiwan

National Taiwan University

National Taiwan University

SOAS

School of Oriental and African Studies, London

Peking University, Beijing

University of British Columbia, Canada

Berkeley

University of California at Berkeley

Hamburg

University of Hamburg, Germany

University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka

University of Pennsylvania

University of Pennsylvania

University of Sydney

University of Sydney, Australia

“I am very fortunate to be a recipient of the award from Khyentse Foundation. It will be a twofold help to me: financially, it is a timely support, and mentally, it is a generous encouragement. I will be always grateful to the foundation and your sponsors. In my everyday life, I will turn my gratefulness to you into kindness to people I meet.”

Ma Shengnan

2016 KF Award for Excellence in Buddhist Studies winner, University of Peking