The Goodman Lectures

Khyentse Foundation is pleased to announce the Goodman Lectures (「古德曼佛學講座」). Every month we will feature a lecture from one of the many Buddhist studies programs the foundation partners with at universities in Asia, Europe, and North America. The lectures, delivered by leading scholars in the field, are intended to create a bridge between academic and nonacademic audiences, presenting bold ideas and innovative research in an accessible format. All lectures will be freely available online.

The Goodman Lectures are organized in honor of long-time Khyentse Foundation friend and advisor, Professor Steven D. Goodman (1945–2020). During his many years of service to different academic institutions and Buddhist communities, Prof. Goodman’s wisdom and humor buoyed his students and colleagues. His commitment to making the fruits of Buddhist studies available to a broad audience was unshakeable. The Goodman Lectures are inspired by Steven’s enduring vision of making academic talks sponsored by Khyentse Foundation available online to all. Don’t miss this opportunity to listen to some of the brightest minds in Buddhist studies today.

We invite you and your communities to attend the talks and spread the word about the lecture series. Details and a registration link for each talk will be announced by email and on social media near the beginning of every month. Click here to sign up to receive information from Khyentse Foundation about the Goodman Lectures and other news.

 

 

Upcoming Online Talk:

Friday 17:00 Pacific Daylight Time, September 24, 2021

Tibetan Tantra at Dunhuang” by Prof. Jacob Dalton, University of California, Berkeley

20:00 EDT on September 24 and 2:00 CET, 5:30 IST, 8:00 CST on September 25

 

REGISTER HERE

 

VISIT EVENTS PAGE FOR MORE DETAILS

Future Online Talks

Prof. Jacob DaltonUniversity of California, Berkeley
Tibetan Tantra at Dunhuang
Friday 17:00 Pacific Daylight Time, September 24, 2021
20:00 EDT on September 24; 2:00 CET, 5:30 IST and 8:00 CST on September 25

Prof. Sarah H. Jacoby, Northwestern University
The Relatable and Extraordinary Life of Sera Khandro Dewé Dorjé
Thursday 9:30 Central Daylight Time, October 21, 2021
10:30 EDT; 16:30 CET; 20:00 IST; 22:30 CST

Prof. Imre Hamar, Eötvös Loránd University
The Role of Samantabhadra Bodhisattva in Buddhist Practice
Saturday, November 13, 2021
11:00 EDT; 17:00 CET; 20:30 IST; 23:00 CST

Prof. Peter Skilling (Bhadra Rujirathat), Chulalongkorn University
Buddhist Canons: A Survey
Saturday, December 11, 2021
2:00 EDT; 8:00 CET; 12:30 IST; 15:00 CST

Prof. Anne C Klein (Rigzin Drolma), Rice University
Being Human and a Buddha Too: Longchenpa’s Open Secret
January 2022

Dr. Eviatar Shulman, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
On Creating the Early Discourses (Suttas) of the Buddha
February 2022

Dr. Naomi Appleton, University of Edinburgh
Narrative Buddhology: Explorations of Indian Buddhist Literature
March 2022

Ven. Prof. K.L. Dhammajoti, Buddha Dharma Centre of Hong Kong
April 2022

Past Talks

Prof. Dorji Wangchuk, University of Hamburg
When Can Buddhism Be Considered Dead and When Living?
Thursday, August 19, 2021
13:00 EDT; 19:00 CET; 22:30 IST; 1:00 CST August 20

Prof. Shrikant Bahulkar, Savitribai Phule Pune University
Vedism and Buddhism
Saturday, July 31, 2021
10:00 EDT; 16:00 CET; 19:30 IST; 22:00 CST

Prof. Donald S. Lopez, Jr., University of Michigan
Reason and Revelation in Buddhism 
Saturday, June 12, 2021, 10:00 EDT; 16:00 CET; 19:30 IST; 22:00 CST

“Reason and Revelation” is the title of Steven Goodman’s first book. The lecture began with some reminiscences about Steve, noting the many developments in the field of Tibetan Buddhist Studies during the forty years of his academic career, a career that began with his work on revelation (terma) and ended with his work on reason (abhidharma). It then turned to a perennial question in the study of religion, and in the study of Buddhism: Which came first, reason or revelation, and what is the relation between them? The lecture was introduced by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche.

Watch the Goodman Lectures on KF’s Vimeo and YouTube channels.